Simple Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This was an awesome recipe. I tweeked it out of necessity of lack of called for ingredients. I used Kitchen Bouquet Browning sauce instead of the beef stock and I added fresh sliced mushrooms during the last hour of cooking time. I will definately prepare this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarlaK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Instead of beer I used red wine and I also added more garlic cloves. Also, when you take the meat out of the liquid at the end, let it boil down into a thicker demi glace type gravy. About 10 or 15 extra mins. Then spoon the demi glace over the meat or onto mashed potatoes. This was so good that my neighbor, who is a chef, wanted seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This recipes was delicious. A big hit, even with my fussy kids:) I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caledonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
When it says simple, it is! The 2 hrs simmering does all the work. I used Guiness Extra Stout. I thickened the cooking liquids the last 15 mins with diluted cornstarch to use as gravy. Even my 5 & 9 yr olds enjoyed. Served with egg noodles and squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I had never made short ribs before. This recipe was very simple and delish!! :) Thank you so much for sharing it with us :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Simple and delicious! I made two substitutions. Instead of salt, I used a salt free seasoning blend, and I didn't have beef broth, so I used a pkg of reduced sodium brown gravy mix with 1 cup water. The gravy was the perfect consistency, I didn't have to thicken it at all. This will be my "go to" short rib recipe from now on. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
The.most.delicious.thing.I.have.ever.made!! Thank you so much for this recipe. My hubby and I both love short ribs and order them whenever we see them on a menu. He said they tasted better than at a restaurant -- if that's not a rave review, I don't know what is! I added a second clove of crushed garlic (we love garlic) and served it with mashed potatoes and carrots. The sauce def. makes a nice gravy. I used a can of Bud Light because it was all I had. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmyp24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Thank you so much. I thought it would be rather pedestrian. I was wrong. Kudos. Keep cooking all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Oyster Bay, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
VERY Simple, but full of taste, I decided to do in the slow cooker and used rice flour instead of regular, as well I used more salt (per another review) and Tsingtoa beer. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I made these for to-night are are so simple and good tasting ,,,ID make again and add abit more spice besies the salt and pepper...I did them in the oven covered. Dont let the beer throw you off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States