Simple Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Very easy. I placed it all in a crock pot and cooked on low for 8 hours. Very tender and the gravy was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foxmomx3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I accidentally made these with pork and it turned out amazing! I used St. Pauli Gill special dark and it had a wonderful flavor. Even the next day when I shredded the leftovers and added it to fajitas. I just made them again the other night and used beef and wow were they tender. You won't regret picking this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I wouldn't make again. I would reduce the onion. Someone mentioned the remaining broth would be good for onion soup, I agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I made this and it came out great!!! I coarsely chopped some celery to go with the onions and garlic! It added texture and flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Excellent! Put in 14.5 oz can of chicken broth by mistake so I added two beef boullion cubes. Everyone loved it. Never had short ribs before but I will definitely have them again. I used the extra gravy on spaghetti the next day. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Not sure what I did wrong, but the only thing I changed was that I used boneless short ribs. They were so tasteless. We had to slather them with horseradish to give it some kind of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Incredible taste. The recipe only calls for 1 pound of ribs which is a very small amount considering most of the weight is in the bones. I used 4 pounds. It took approx. 45 minutes to dredge and brown the ribs. I didn't increase the amount of the liquid though. The amount given in the recipe worked fine for the 4 pounds of meat. I used my Lodge cast iron dutch oven which has a heavy lid and doesn't allow much liquid to cook out. It worked wonderful for the ribs. After about two hours the meat was falling off the bone. The flavor was great. We ate it with a nice crusty bread and sopped up the juice. Divine !!! It was nice to find a rib recipe that doesn't rely on a sweet barbecue sauce. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
A perfect Sunday fall afternoon dish that makes the whole house smell wonderful. I didn't have stout, so used a lager and it didn't seem to harm the taste. I used boneless beef ribs, and they came out tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Loooove this recipe! I used burgandy wine instead of beer since we eat Gluten Free and used instead of beef stock as well... I also didn't use the flour (since it has gluten). I went ahead and added the garlic when I seared the ribs at first to seal in more flavor. Definitely a keeper! :) I plan on using the extra stock for french onion soup, it is delish!... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drumsticks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States