Simple Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This was awesome! I used water instead of the beer because I was slow cooking it with small red potatoes. Browned it in a cast iron pan and then slow cooked it in the oven with potatoes for 2 hours. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This recipe was absolutely delicious! Every week, I make a home-cooked, from-scratch meal for a small group of friends. I've been doing it for close to five years, and it was rated one of the top three of all time! We ate every morsel and stopped just short of licking the pan, my 4 year old had seconds, and even the super-picky 2 year old ate a few bites. I followed the recipe almost exactly, except I did not have any beer on hand, and don't care for it, so I used Stongbow Honey & Apple Hard Cider. Wonderful sweetness with the onions! I will definitely make this again (next week is not too soon!) but will be sure to triple the recipe to try and get some leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ämy Keller Jump

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Sorry, Un-edible. possibly the reason was the meat? Super tough and fatty...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Strickland09

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
My husband really loved these; reminded him of what his mom used to make. They were a bit salty for me, so I will not add any extra salt next time. Easy & tasty; YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Likens

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stephjoy
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
The only thing that I changed was using a regular beer just because I didn't have stout. This was absolutely delicious and may be the best meal I've ever made. My toddler wasn't a fan but she doesn't eat anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Tried it the first time a month ago and it was a hit. My husband was not a fan of short ribs but now he requested it for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellisa Paradis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Excellent. Easy to make and my entire family loved it. Will def make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmel Perera

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I have never made beef ribs before. It was fantastic in the crock pot. I did brown the ribs before and and the onion with 3 cloves of garlic. I used just two boullion cubes instead of broth and only used the beer for liquid. I left out the salt and it turned out perfect. What a great easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I was in a rush and ended up not following the recipe exactly. I forgot to dredge the ribs in flour, salt and pepper before browning them. I ended up seasoning after browning (no flour) and cooked it in a cast iron pan that wasn't tall enough for the lid to fit properly with the ribs in. All in all it ended up fairly tasty regardless and I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Nilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Loved it, added 2 cups Red wine, 3 carrots, celery and fresh garlic. Used chicken broth and a bay leaf. I also simmered 1 hr longer. Meat was so tender you could cut it with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States