Simple Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
After browsing reviews I decided to write my own because I have been seeing a lot of comments regarding the 'doneness' of the roast. I think many people are perhaps not understanding that pot roast is pot roast. It is not roast beef, it doesn't get cooked med rare, or med, etc. It gets cooked until it is sooo cooked that it falls apart. Roast beef is cooked to one's taste as rare, med rare, med. It is then sliced & usually served with au jus. Pot roast is pot roast, roast beef is roast beef, they are two different entities, period. Also, adding cups of beef stock and red wine to cover the roast is simply boiling the meat. If that's the way one decides to cook it, one prob shouldn't even bother with a mirepoix or browning the roast, etc. That said, I LOVE the simplicity of this recipe. Delicious, tender and easy to prepare. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashland, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Excellent! A crock pot pot roast afficiando, this was my first attempt at an actual oven baked pot roast. I'm used to using quite a bit of liquid, so I wasn't too sure about this. Delicious!!!! I made a couple of minor adjustments...seasoned the meat with seasoning salt and Monterey Steak for flavor. Added sweet potato chunks and whole "new potatoes" to the veggies. (I had a 2 lb roast so there was plenty of room). Threw two whole cloves of garlic on top of the meat. The veggies melted together into the most sensational "mush", it was heavenly....the meat was juicy and tender. Definately deserves 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This was simple and full of flavor. I didn't need any beef stock and the meat was just melt in your mouth! I have been looking for a good pot roast recipe for many, many years. Thank you soo much!! Looks like I found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
So easy to make! I wasn't good at following the recipe as i added too much rosemary. I also couldn't figure out the meat as i am in New Zealand and we use different names but i used a cheapish meat. I don't think i could say it has heaps of flavour but a nice easy dish. I had it reheated the next day and i think it tasted even better! I had the leftovers with horseraddish and gravy which was lovely. I'm also going to make yorkshire puddings which i think will go well with this. I will deffinetly make this again, maybe with less rosemary! Loved being able to watch the video too, your drawings were awesome! :-) Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Delicious! Super easy, stress free Sunday dinner. Everyone loved it. Followed the recipe pretty close except increased the servings to 9 (had a 5 pd roast) and used apprx 1 tsp fresh rosemary and 1 tsp fresh thyme. Also added baby new red potatoes and a few fingerlings about 1/2 hour before servings. Perfect. This will be my new go to pot roast recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Made it exactly as Chef John instructed in his video 3 weeks in a row, once for family twice for company. Presentation and taste was a big hit. Many recipe requests. I was almost embarrased to say how easy it was to prepare! My kids give this one 5 1/2 Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I added just a touch of beef broth to the bottom of the pan only because I was afraid of the vegetables burning on the bottom of the pan. I do not have a dutch oven, just a regular glass baking dish. What I did was assemble the vegetables on the bottom of the dish, laying the roast on top and then I covered the whole top of the dish with foil. After baking, I used the pan juices to make a small amount of pan gravy. This was good but I really missed the addition of garlic. When I make this again, I'll add garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I followed the recipe as written and it was simple and delicious. This cooking method tenderized the meat wonderfully, without any need for a tenderizing marinade, allowing the flavor of the meat to be fully appreciated. The vegetables were very tasty and tender as well - no surprise I guess as they were cooked in butter. Next time I will increase the amount of vegetables so we can enjoy more of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Wow! This turned out nice and tender. I modified this a bit to use ingredients I had on hand. I used green peppers instead of celery, coriander instead of rosemary and added garlic. As the title suggests this roast was simple and turned out great! Chef John posted this Simple Beef Pot Roast with a video and put it on horseradish mashed potatoes. I had never heard of making mashed potatoes with horseradish, but used in moderation was surprisingly yummy with the roast. I will sure make both again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SillyDaisy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This is INCREDIBLE! My husband loved it so much, the next time I was searching to try "something new" he said he wanted the same recipe as last time, which was this one. I did add potatoes and it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States