Simple Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Cooking the roast in a mix of veggies really makes a difference and adds a sweetness, I think, to pot roast. It was very good, but when I tasted it to check to see if I needed to correct the seasoning, I thought something was missing. So I sprinkled it with about 1 1/2 - 2 tablespoons of worcestershire sauce and cooked it for about a half hour more. That did the trick and put the recipe into the 5 star category (with worcerstershire).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cloud9

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Cooked it pretty much per the recipe, I did add about 1/2 cup of good red wine. I was puzzeled by the reviewer that wanted to cook a rare or med-rare pot roast. Who would do that? The best part is when the meat is falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roxboro, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Annandale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Really good! Just used a small chuck roast. I wish I would have made more of the veggies. All was good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Oh my goodness--this was DELICIOUS made exactly as written. I served it over mashed potatoes. Even the pickiest member of the family cleaned the plate! Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
After browsing reviews I decided to write my own because I have been seeing a lot of comments regarding the 'doneness' of the roast. I think many people are perhaps not understanding that pot roast is pot roast. It is not roast beef, it doesn't get cooked med rare, or med, etc. It gets cooked until it is sooo cooked that it falls apart. Roast beef is cooked to one's taste as rare, med rare, med. It is then sliced & usually served with au jus. Pot roast is pot roast, roast beef is roast beef, they are two different entities, period. Also, adding cups of beef stock and red wine to cover the roast is simply boiling the meat. If that's the way one decides to cook it, one prob shouldn't even bother with a mirepoix or browning the roast, etc. That said, I LOVE the simplicity of this recipe. Delicious, tender and easy to prepare. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashland, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
very good but I added bay leaves as I do this with any beef roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Sent this one to my Keeper Box. Made to order and turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Five Boys One Mom so nota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Excellent! Added small red potatoes and carrot chunks in final 45 minutes. Also minced 3 garlic cloves into vegetables. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
It was too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Used onion, carrot and potato instead of celery and added some red wine before putting in the over. Also added a tiny, little bit of red pepper flakes to give it a little zing. By far, the most flavourful roast I have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States