Simple Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
The whole family loved it - even the fussy eater had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
An excellent recipe for this type of roast. Those that complained that it was too well cooked.........well a pot roast is supposed to be cooked a long time. If you want a roast of beef (e.e. standing rib or sirloin) you do not cover it and it is a completely different type of cooking. Thanks for one of the few pot roasts that turn out very tender and still do not taste as tho it was stewed. Highly recommend this recipe and even a beginner cook will have total success if they follow his directions and not what they think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Very easy! Family loved it. Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Add a can of beer, or a cup of dry red wine, when it goes into the oven. The biggest problem using wine, is that the rest of it seems to go into the chef... Edit: lower and slower is even better, especially when it accommodates a work schedule: 275 or 250 will be fine, if you're at work all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter J Martin
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Exceeded expectations! Followed the directions (which I usually don't) and it came out awesome. I used a piece of meat just less than 2 lb and there were no leftovers. Will make again and wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Been making this since I first spotted it, it is scrumptious. Needs no tweeking, leave it alone. Thank you Chef John, all your recipes that I have tried are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancee King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I make it exactly as directed and it was amazing! Bought onions. carrots, celery already diced so couldn't have been easier. Loved just using one pot too, A lot of natrual gravy so good over potatoes or any other other startch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This is one of the best recipes that Chef John has ever come up with. I didn't think he could cook real basic food. We all love this meal. I do make one change though. I use dried Basil in place of the black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Loved this recipe super easy and delicious...I tweaked it a lil bit I used parsley instead of rosemary and potatoes instead of celery(im not a fan of celery) I also sliced the chuck roast before browning it, so I could speed up the cooking process(i get home by 5 so I didn't want to eat super late).. it was in the oven for 1 hour instead of the 2 1/2-3 hrs.. it worked perfectly for me I was eating within an hour and a 1/2 of getting home.. LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Really enjoyed this recipe. I had some yams on hand that I added and it turned out great. Company thought the vegetable medley tasted like stuffing because of the rosemary. Will definitely make this again! Served with Yorkshire pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verdi-Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States