Simple Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
PERFECT just as written. Thank you for another simple yummy recipe. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I did add a cup of diced yellow bell peppers. My husband said that I should have tripled the recipe. Next time I will use the slow cooker to save electricity (after I brown the meat). Dicing the veggies really small is the key to melding the flavors, I think. I baked a potato, mashed it with some butter and served the veggies on top with the meat on the side with some of the juices for my husband. Mine, I served over rice. Yum, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hodges, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laurenr498
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
So easy! So delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
A very simple recipe that creates a mouth-watering pot roast with a lovely gravy. I made this to recipe, except that I added extra carrots and onions. For those that worried about the veg burning, you shouldn't; the roast saturates them with plenty of juices. The only hitch I had was cooking time. I am in the UK and using a gas mark oven. 135C is gas mark 1, but I found that, after the instructed three hours, the meat was still tough and wasn't breaking apart when I applied a fork. That was easily remedied by returning it to the oven for approx two more hours. (Unlike with roast beef, if a pot roast looks done but feels tough and solid (i.e., what some might think is "overcooked"), then it isn't done enough. Pot roast is a food of patience that is designed to be cooked at a low temperature over a long period of time. When it's done, it falls deliciously apart.) I served it with Chef John's horseradish mashed potatoes, and the flavours all worked beautifully together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Excellent. Tweeked a little with what I had. Used Italian herbs in place of rosemary. When all was done I used my submersible blender and pureed all for gravy. Might try adding some mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Delicious! This was amazing! Just made it this evening. Followed the recipe but doubled the veggies and butter because we wanted left overs to make in a soup tomorrow. We still can't believe how good the diced up vegetables with their juices tasted over the potatoes. My husband always has to have gravy but he said this was absolutely delicious. I even stirred some horseradish into my potatoes like Chef John did. Never did that before but we loved that too. Thank you Chef John for an unforgettable recipe that I am anxious to serve to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Overall, I really enjoyed this recipe. I thought the amount of rosemary was a little too overpowering, so next time I'll put in half the amount. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
The whole family loved it - even the fussy eater had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
An excellent recipe for this type of roast. Those that complained that it was too well cooked.........well a pot roast is supposed to be cooked a long time. If you want a roast of beef (e.e. standing rib or sirloin) you do not cover it and it is a completely different type of cooking. Thanks for one of the few pot roasts that turn out very tender and still do not taste as tho it was stewed. Highly recommend this recipe and even a beginner cook will have total success if they follow his directions and not what they think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Very easy! Family loved it. Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States