Simple Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Cooked roast according to directions but came out extremely dry; I did use different vegetables I had on hand and those cooked just fine. All in all I don't think I'll be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Burns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
My new favorite pot roast recipe! I did it almost exactly as written, except I did not dice my carrots (I just used baby carrots) and added a clove of garlic. I used a 2 1/4 lb. roast, and cooked it for about 2 hours and 15 minutes. Next time, I will cook it a little longer, so it falls apart. The flavor was awesome, and it smelled amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
This is our go-to recipe for pot roast. Made it dozens of times and it always comes out perfect!! You can use virtually any cut of beef. We use chuck roast most frequently, but we've tried "London broil" cuts - bottom/top round, even flank steak or flap meat. The secret is there's NO liquid added and the meat and veggies cook long and slowly in a low heat oven. Of course you adjust time to fit the meat cut - maybe an hour and a half for flank steak vs. 3 hours for a good sized chuck roast. No matter - it all comes out dee-lish - fall-apart tender with a savory vegetable infused gravy that's perfect over mashed potatoes. In fact, since I've reminded myself just how good this is, I'm going to make this for supper tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodie41

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Great. Added 1 1/2 cups of diced Mushrooms, I will use less salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
After 35 yrs of using a crockpot for pot roast with varying results...mostly tough and dry...I have become an aficionado of oven roasting because of this recipe. Simple and delicious and perfect every time! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brittani
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I stuck to the recipe. It came out amazing! So tender & juicy, full of flavor! Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Lovely recipe, so simple...but where's the cayenne pepper, John? Just joking, really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Haven

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I tried this recipe as a last resort for a roast that I forgot to put in the slow cooker. I followed the recipe as directed and it turned out very tough. I didn't care for the flavor, either. Pot roast just goes in the slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Excellent flavor and very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I absolutely love this simple recipe. Anyone can make this even if you have no experience in the kitchen. It is scrumptious with few ingredients. All you need to do is watch his video, grab the necessary items, and give yourself enough time. My boyfriend was amazed with my culinary skills until he made it himself and then understood how I couldn't mess up such an easy task. Now he asks for pot roast almost weekly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States