Simple Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
So easy to make! I wasn't good at following the recipe as i added too much rosemary. I also couldn't figure out the meat as i am in New Zealand and we use different names but i used a cheapish meat. I don't think i could say it has heaps of flavour but a nice easy dish. I had it reheated the next day and i think it tasted even better! I had the leftovers with horseraddish and gravy which was lovely. I'm also going to make yorkshire puddings which i think will go well with this. I will deffinetly make this again, maybe with less rosemary! Loved being able to watch the video too, your drawings were awesome! :-) Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This was simple and full of flavor. I didn't need any beef stock and the meat was just melt in your mouth! I have been looking for a good pot roast recipe for many, many years. Thank you soo much!! Looks like I found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Excellent! A crock pot pot roast afficiando, this was my first attempt at an actual oven baked pot roast. I'm used to using quite a bit of liquid, so I wasn't too sure about this. Delicious!!!! I made a couple of minor adjustments...seasoned the meat with seasoning salt and Monterey Steak for flavor. Added sweet potato chunks and whole "new potatoes" to the veggies. (I had a 2 lb roast so there was plenty of room). Threw two whole cloves of garlic on top of the meat. The veggies melted together into the most sensational "mush", it was heavenly....the meat was juicy and tender. Definately deserves 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Wow! This turned out nice and tender. I modified this a bit to use ingredients I had on hand. I used green peppers instead of celery, coriander instead of rosemary and added garlic. As the title suggests this roast was simple and turned out great! Chef John posted this Simple Beef Pot Roast with a video and put it on horseradish mashed potatoes. I had never heard of making mashed potatoes with horseradish, but used in moderation was surprisingly yummy with the roast. I will sure make both again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SillyDaisy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
used a little bisto to make the gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I followed the recipe as written and it was simple and delicious. This cooking method tenderized the meat wonderfully, without any need for a tenderizing marinade, allowing the flavor of the meat to be fully appreciated. The vegetables were very tasty and tender as well - no surprise I guess as they were cooked in butter. Next time I will increase the amount of vegetables so we can enjoy more of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I've been making lousy pot roast for along time. I could never get it just right. Now I succeded. Cooking time and temperature was my problem. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oldguy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dodge City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is YUMMY! Added more of the veggies and only used 3 Tbs of butter. Super comfort food, easy to make without using all the pre-packages soups and onion mix. Got everyone to the dinner table. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Made it exactly as Chef John instructed in his video 3 weeks in a row, once for family twice for company. Presentation and taste was a big hit. Many recipe requests. I was almost embarrased to say how easy it was to prepare! My kids give this one 5 1/2 Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
roast had a good flavor but was definately overcooked for my liking (non of it was rare or even medium rare, I'd say all was medium to well done). I only cooked it for 2.5 hours and the roast was 3.6 pds. If it tried it again, I'd cook it less or maybe even at a lower temperature
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States