Simple Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This was so easy to do and turned out perfectly even though I didn't have any celery in the house and it was storming out, so I didn't want to make a trip to the store just for celery. I increased the carrots (1 lb diced) and onion (about 2 cups) and threw in some celery flakes with the rosemary. I added some peeled and cut up red potatoes around the edges of the beef and cooked as directed. It was awesome but just what I would expect from Chef John. If you haven't tried his version of French Onion soup yet, do so. I'll never use any other recipe than his again. Yummy stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figgy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and was very impressed with the results- tender with lots of juices which is amazing considering you don't add any liquid. There were only two of us eating and there was little leftover. We did find it a little salty so I will use less salt the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I added just a touch of beef broth to the bottom of the pan only because I was afraid of the vegetables burning on the bottom of the pan. I do not have a dutch oven, just a regular glass baking dish. What I did was assemble the vegetables on the bottom of the dish, laying the roast on top and then I covered the whole top of the dish with foil. After baking, I used the pan juices to make a small amount of pan gravy. This was good but I really missed the addition of garlic. When I make this again, I'll add garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Delicious! Super easy, stress free Sunday dinner. Everyone loved it. Followed the recipe pretty close except increased the servings to 9 (had a 5 pd roast) and used apprx 1 tsp fresh rosemary and 1 tsp fresh thyme. Also added baby new red potatoes and a few fingerlings about 1/2 hour before servings. Perfect. This will be my new go to pot roast recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This is INCREDIBLE! My husband loved it so much, the next time I was searching to try "something new" he said he wanted the same recipe as last time, which was this one. I did add potatoes and it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I am a pescitarian, but my boyfriend hadn't had roast in years and I often cook large meals for him and his roomates. (house full of hungry men) and today was cook day so I decided to make a roast. Found this recipe and it looked good so I made it exactly as stated. The look on my boyfriend's face was priceless.....he ate a heaping plate of this and went back for thirds!!!! This recipe gets 5 stars!!!! All the men loved every bite. I made this roast with rosemary garlic red mashed potatoes and also added a feew halved red potatoes in the roast pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Zachary, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This recipe was simple and delicious! We devoured it, and it'll make a heart lunch tomorrow at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This was very tender and tasty! I used a 3.35 lb. chuck roast, and 2 1/2 hours was almost perfect. The meat sliced well, and it was juicy. If you want it to fall to pieces, cook the full three hours, at least. I liked the addition of rosemary--I used fresh sprigs from my garden. Thanks for the recipe, Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I followed the instructions the first time I made this. The end result was okay, but not spectacular. The second time, I made some modifications. Brown the roast as indicated, then saute your veggies, including the onion, scraping the brown bits off of the bottom of the pan. When the onions are almost done, add the butter (and you don't need a full 1/4 cup, maybe 2 Tbsp), and add 2 cloves of minced garlic. Saute until fragrant but not brown, a couple of minutes max. Add 2 Tbsp of Italian seasoning to the veggies and stir. It sounds like a lot, but it gives great flavor. Add your roast back in, then pour in 4 C. beef broth and 1/2 C. red wine. I like to make sure my roast is submerged in the liquid, so that it can soak up all the flavor. Optional is to add a couple of potatoes cut into a large dice right before you put the roast back into the pan. Bake as instructed. Will your roast be medium to medium-rare? Probably not, but it will taste good and be fall apart tender. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This is THE BEST pot roast EVER!!!! OMG!!!! So easy! I was worried it wouldnt cook right or taste bad without any water or broth but this is the best! Makes its own sauce, its sticky and good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States