Simple Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Pot roast is just one of those things I haven't been able to do well; until this recipe! My meat was bigger, about 4 1/2 lbs. After reading reviews and instructions, it seemed like the vegetables would be the "gravy" for the meat, I trippled the measurements for them and made sure to chop them small. I'm glad I did, my family used them over the meat and the mashed potatoes I made to go along with the meal. Since I was working with larger amounts, I also doubled the rosemary. I always salt & pepper to taste and use olive oil. It was delicious. Hardest part is preparing & chopping veggies, but really worth the effort. I could see a touch of garlic in here too, but great as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
My picky eater brother in law loved this and he also loved the leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I think this was delicious! I always made roasts in a slow cooker, but I got this fancy dutch oven and wanted to try it this way. I added about 3 tbsp of Worcestershire sauce when the vegetables were sauteing, and about a 1/3c of water. I cooked my 2.6lb roast for only an hour and a half in the oven and then left it in there with the heat off for about another hour, covered. This roast is juicier than ones I get from the crock pot. My boyfriend said "No offense, but I didn't realize how dry your other roasts were until I tried this one." I agreed. Very, very happy with this recipe. Will keep making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Odessa Oblast, Ukraine
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
To die for! And so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbies-girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery Village, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Very tasty & easy! I think that adding butter was a great idea since I included chunky potatoes. Cooked a 1.5 lb roast for 2 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This was so easy and so delicious! I did make an alteration to fit my taste. I did not use celery but added potatoes instead and I also added some minced garlic on top once in the roasting pan. I cooked everything the way the recipe said too and the meat was practically falling apart, the veggies nice and soft. It was out of this world :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
FREAKIN AWESOME!! My 3yr old loved it :) Used herbs de provence instead of rosemary...hate rosemary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixponies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I didn't have celery so I replaced it with other vegetables. However, the main concern is the flavor and consistency of the beef. I found this recipe to be the BEST. Ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Thank you Chef John!! Definitely another winner here, absolutely the best pot roast I have ever made. I have to say that I was a little skeptical being there is no broth or liquid, but I have absolute faith in all of your recipes(I have made about 30 of them so far, all have been hits with my family) so I followed recipe exactly. Soooooo gooooood :) And I love your drawings, and of course your humor. My husband can always tell when I make a "Chef John" recipe because he enjoys it so much. His all time favorite is your Swedish Meatballs, in fact, I made them for his birthday! Thank you for making me a great cook, keep up the good work :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Be sure and trim the fat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States