Simple Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
My picky eater brother in law loved this and he also loved the leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I think this was delicious! I always made roasts in a slow cooker, but I got this fancy dutch oven and wanted to try it this way. I added about 3 tbsp of Worcestershire sauce when the vegetables were sauteing, and about a 1/3c of water. I cooked my 2.6lb roast for only an hour and a half in the oven and then left it in there with the heat off for about another hour, covered. This roast is juicier than ones I get from the crock pot. My boyfriend said "No offense, but I didn't realize how dry your other roasts were until I tried this one." I agreed. Very, very happy with this recipe. Will keep making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Odessa Oblast, Ukraine
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
To die for! And so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbies-girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery Village, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Very tasty & easy! I think that adding butter was a great idea since I included chunky potatoes. Cooked a 1.5 lb roast for 2 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This was so easy and so delicious! I did make an alteration to fit my taste. I did not use celery but added potatoes instead and I also added some minced garlic on top once in the roasting pan. I cooked everything the way the recipe said too and the meat was practically falling apart, the veggies nice and soft. It was out of this world :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
FREAKIN AWESOME!! My 3yr old loved it :) Used herbs de provence instead of rosemary...hate rosemary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixponies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I didn't have celery so I replaced it with other vegetables. However, the main concern is the flavor and consistency of the beef. I found this recipe to be the BEST. Ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Thank you Chef John!! Definitely another winner here, absolutely the best pot roast I have ever made. I have to say that I was a little skeptical being there is no broth or liquid, but I have absolute faith in all of your recipes(I have made about 30 of them so far, all have been hits with my family) so I followed recipe exactly. Soooooo gooooood :) And I love your drawings, and of course your humor. My husband can always tell when I make a "Chef John" recipe because he enjoys it so much. His all time favorite is your Swedish Meatballs, in fact, I made them for his birthday! Thank you for making me a great cook, keep up the good work :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Be sure and trim the fat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This was everything I expected! Very tender. I like the vegetables on the bottom method. I will add a few more next time. I added garlic powder. Served it on horseradish mashed potatoes as recommended - delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States