Simple Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by npoirier
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This was delicious. Didn't change a single thing other than the amount of meat (2 lbs.).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by npoirier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
It has good flavor, and the vegetables are nice, but I will never cook it again becasue it wasn't tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
After years of making the cream of mushroom/onion soup mix slow cooker pot roast I needed something new. This was simple and delicious. I didn't have any celery so I threw in some celery seed with the rosemary. I cooked it for 3 hours and it came out tender with lots of flavor. I was hoping to have leftovers for tomorrow but alas, there isn't enough left. I could make this every month! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARMY WIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This came out very dry and overcooked. I had a 4 lb bottom round, so cooked for 3 hrs, followed recipe. I guess I overcooked it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I made it as instructed and it was pretty tasty. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This is great! I took at chance bc the store didn't have any roasts and just bought stew meat. This still worked perfectly - the meat came out tender and moist. I sprinkled it with adobo and garlic powder before browning it, and taking some tips from other reviewers, threw in some small potatoes for the last hour. My celery and onion sort of melted into a yummy sauce; if you want pieces you can bite into, maybe add a bit more than the recipe calls for. Thanks for sharing this great technique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This was probably THE BEST pot roast we've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: North Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
My boyfriend and I have been enjoying many of Chef John's recipes. He has not failed to impress us yet! His techniques, delicious ingredients that are simple but perfectly combined, and great instruction have kept us coming back for more. This recipe rocked...just as is! We paired it with his Perfect Mashed Potatoes and our dinner tonight was amazing!! Our tummies are really happy. Keep 'em coming Chef John :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I primarily used this recipe because it didnt call for onion soup mix (so tired of it) and for the cooking instructions. For the life of me I couldnt find the rosemary so I used a generic no salt seasoning blend and salted and peppered the meat and veggies separate. It gave it a nice flavor. I was too lazy to wash the stew pot I would usually use and used an anodized aluminum 5 qt saute pan with oven safe handles. You must brown the meat or it will lack flavor. I just tossed it all in the oven after browning. DO NOT ADD A LIQUID or your meat will steam and not roast. I cooked mine for 3 hrs and the veggies did not burn at 275*. The reason for 4 stars. If you dice the veggies it makes them inedible because they are mush and full of grease. Roasted carrots and celery are yummy. I cut the celery and carrots into 3-4" whole pieces, the onions into large quartered slices (much faster too) and added enough peeled and quartered potatoes for enough servings for the amount of people. These are also very yummy roasted. I really dont think its necessary to cook the veggies down so much before putting the roast in. I did brown them up a bit on the stove top but didnt cook them thoroughly. YOu dont want to draw all the flavor out of the carrots. They will get plenty of cook time in the oven. Because there is so much grease from the meat and cooking the veggies you don't really end up with gravy. The roasted potatoes dont need gravy just a little butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States