Simple Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
After browsing reviews I decided to write my own because I have been seeing a lot of comments regarding the 'doneness' of the roast. I think many people are perhaps not understanding that pot roast is pot roast. It is not roast beef, it doesn't get cooked med rare, or med, etc. It gets cooked until it is sooo cooked that it falls apart. Roast beef is cooked to one's taste as rare, med rare, med. It is then sliced & usually served with au jus. Pot roast is pot roast, roast beef is roast beef, they are two different entities, period. Also, adding cups of beef stock and red wine to cover the roast is simply boiling the meat. If that's the way one decides to cook it, one prob shouldn't even bother with a mirepoix or browning the roast, etc. That said, I LOVE the simplicity of this recipe. Delicious, tender and easy to prepare. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashland, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
very good but I added bay leaves as I do this with any beef roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Sent this one to my Keeper Box. Made to order and turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Five Boys One Mom so nota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Excellent! Added small red potatoes and carrot chunks in final 45 minutes. Also minced 3 garlic cloves into vegetables. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
It was too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Used onion, carrot and potato instead of celery and added some red wine before putting in the over. Also added a tiny, little bit of red pepper flakes to give it a little zing. By far, the most flavourful roast I have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
The "special sauce" the broken down veggies make is ideal to pour over the mashed potatoes and watch the kiddos (and my hubby!) gobble up. Delicious recipe that was a winner with my family. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I thought this was good. Followed the recipe exactly. Used a 3.8lb chuck roast. Do not need to add any liquid there will be plenty!! The sauce is very watery so if you like it thicker,(more like gravy) you will need to thicken it. I let mine cook the entire 3 hours but I think it would have been done at 2 and a half. At 3 hours it was falling apart (which is ok with me). Thanks for a nice pot roast recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lathrup Village, Michigan, USA
Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This is a keeper. Made exactly as per instructions and came out oh soooo GOOD. even my wife and mom liked it. So much better than the last Pot Roast recipe I tried from this site. Thanks you so much. I only changed three ingredients, my wife doesn't like celery or onions, so I added chopped potatoes inplace of the celery and added dried minced onions inplace of fresh onion and also added 1 bag frozen cut green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This was fantastic and reminded me of Sunday dinners of long ago. Will probably use the leftover to make shepherds pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Basehor, Kansas, USA
Living In: Belton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States