Simple Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Loved this recipe super easy and delicious...I tweaked it a lil bit I used parsley instead of rosemary and potatoes instead of celery(im not a fan of celery) I also sliced the chuck roast before browning it, so I could speed up the cooking process(i get home by 5 so I didn't want to eat super late).. it was in the oven for 1 hour instead of the 2 1/2-3 hrs.. it worked perfectly for me I was eating within an hour and a 1/2 of getting home.. LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Really enjoyed this recipe. I had some yams on hand that I added and it turned out great. Company thought the vegetable medley tasted like stuffing because of the rosemary. Will definitely make this again! Served with Yorkshire pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verdi-Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This was delicious! I baked it for 2.5 hours and it was a little dry, so might take it out at 2 hours. The carrots were so delicious, I would triple the amount next time and probably add some potatoes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Marinette, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
After all the rave reviews I was disappointed. Too much oil from the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wa53rose
Home Town: Cathlamet, Washington, USA
Living In: Kalama, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This was the best roast I have had in a long time. So simple and I think that is why we liked it so much. We burned out on recipes adding so much the roast gets overpowered. My roast was just big enough for the 2 of us but I used the full amount of vegetables, I would add even more next time. So good! The only change I would make would be to use a bit less butter but this is a spot-on delicious pot roast! Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Loved it. Prepared it exactly as written and the meat fell apart and the veggies were perfect. Making it for the second time tonight because my four year old requested it a few days ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I am not a great cook and I was looking for something that would make me look like a star cooking dinner for my boyfriend. I have made roasts a few times using various means, slow cooker, in the bakers dish w/ the little bag w/ the mix, etc., and this one by far came out the best. I doubled the vegetables and I'm glad that I did, b/c the veggies are definitely the best part of the dish and it would really not be enough if I had not doubled it. For the carrots, I used 1 cup diced carrots and 1 cup whole baby carrots so that there were some bigger veggies you could actually sink your teeth into. I'm normally not a fan of celery but the celery all gooeyed up in the sauce was scrumptious and gave the dish a lot of flavor. The roast itself was tender and came out nice, but it was definitely pouring the carmelized veggies on top after it cooked that made it a winner. One thing I would disagree about is the claim that this pot roast is "easy". I admit that I'm not a great chef, but with all of the slicing and dicing of vegetables and the required searing before putting it in the oven, this is definitely not a quick prep/throw it together thing. I spent around 45 mins doing the prep including the veggies, the searing etc. "Easy" pot roast is either throwing it all in the crock pot with some onion soup or putting it in the bakers dish with the plastic and the bag of premade seasoning. This is true homemade pot roast, but given that I definitely had a feeling of accomplishment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristina Burney
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
This recipe was delicious and quick! I added 2 tablespoons of worcestershire sauce. I also rubbed some garlic powder, Parsley flakes, and cajun seasoning on the roast after searing, and poured vegetables/butter on top of roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Burney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Best pot roast I have ever made. Tried many different recipes but this the best, roast was moist and very tender. I added potatoes, and grated in 2 cloves of garlic. I served half of the vegetables ( excluding the potatoes) and mashed the remaining and used them in the gravy and the gravy was very tasty. Will use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
My first time making roast, so simple and quick preparation. Everyone loved it! This is how I will make it everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashlee C

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Arkansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States