Simple Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Very easy to make and yummy making it a second time tonight exactly like the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This was excellent! I did mine in a slow cooker. Prepared the dish exactly as outlined, except I put on top of a cut up onion in the slow cooker at 250 for about 7 hours. It was AMAZING! The entire family loved it. Even my picky son!!! Will make this a regular dish in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This is the easiest and most delicious pot roast recipe! I was skeptical about not adding any liquid, but it wasn't needed. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This recipe is a keeper. In my experience, unless it's a prime rib roast every other roast recipe I've tried has come out tough and dry. This one was fork tender and deliciously flavourful. My husband was very impressed as was I. Finally, a pot roast recipe that is everything it said it would be. I followed the recipe exactly. Don't think you need liquid to make it tender. The slow cooking on the bed of delicious chopped veggies produces it's own juice. Enjoy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shamusmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Frances, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Tried yesterday exactly as recipe says, it turned out very tender and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy M. Dantley
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I used a chuck roast, and the family devoured it! Lots if great flavor, and since it cooks low and slow it's an easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy M. Dantley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
PERFECT just as written. Thank you for another simple yummy recipe. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I did add a cup of diced yellow bell peppers. My husband said that I should have tripled the recipe. Next time I will use the slow cooker to save electricity (after I brown the meat). Dicing the veggies really small is the key to melding the flavors, I think. I baked a potato, mashed it with some butter and served the veggies on top with the meat on the side with some of the juices for my husband. Mine, I served over rice. Yum, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hodges, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laurenr498
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
So easy! So delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
A very simple recipe that creates a mouth-watering pot roast with a lovely gravy. I made this to recipe, except that I added extra carrots and onions. For those that worried about the veg burning, you shouldn't; the roast saturates them with plenty of juices. The only hitch I had was cooking time. I am in the UK and using a gas mark oven. 135C is gas mark 1, but I found that, after the instructed three hours, the meat was still tough and wasn't breaking apart when I applied a fork. That was easily remedied by returning it to the oven for approx two more hours. (Unlike with roast beef, if a pot roast looks done but feels tough and solid (i.e., what some might think is "overcooked"), then it isn't done enough. Pot roast is a food of patience that is designed to be cooked at a low temperature over a long period of time. When it's done, it falls deliciously apart.) I served it with Chef John's horseradish mashed potatoes, and the flavours all worked beautifully together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States