Simple Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
My boyfriend and I have been enjoying many of Chef John's recipes. He has not failed to impress us yet! His techniques, delicious ingredients that are simple but perfectly combined, and great instruction have kept us coming back for more. This recipe rocked...just as is! We paired it with his Perfect Mashed Potatoes and our dinner tonight was amazing!! Our tummies are really happy. Keep 'em coming Chef John :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I primarily used this recipe because it didnt call for onion soup mix (so tired of it) and for the cooking instructions. For the life of me I couldnt find the rosemary so I used a generic no salt seasoning blend and salted and peppered the meat and veggies separate. It gave it a nice flavor. I was too lazy to wash the stew pot I would usually use and used an anodized aluminum 5 qt saute pan with oven safe handles. You must brown the meat or it will lack flavor. I just tossed it all in the oven after browning. DO NOT ADD A LIQUID or your meat will steam and not roast. I cooked mine for 3 hrs and the veggies did not burn at 275*. The reason for 4 stars. If you dice the veggies it makes them inedible because they are mush and full of grease. Roasted carrots and celery are yummy. I cut the celery and carrots into 3-4" whole pieces, the onions into large quartered slices (much faster too) and added enough peeled and quartered potatoes for enough servings for the amount of people. These are also very yummy roasted. I really dont think its necessary to cook the veggies down so much before putting the roast in. I did brown them up a bit on the stove top but didnt cook them thoroughly. YOu dont want to draw all the flavor out of the carrots. They will get plenty of cook time in the oven. Because there is so much grease from the meat and cooking the veggies you don't really end up with gravy. The roasted potatoes dont need gravy just a little butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
easy, but needs more flavor. like the cooking method though - just as tender as in a crockpot, but in 1/3 the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I'm not known for my cooking skills, but this recipe turned out great, and it was so easy. This was the first dish I made using a cast iron Dutch oven we got from my Dad. I used baby carrots and added yam and 3 Russet potatoes. I would have taken a picture, but it was half gone before I had the chance. I've started following Chef John now, because if he can make this lame cook look good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arlette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This is a go-to recipe in our house. I have always made it into more of a stew. I follow the recipe but then I cook it in a crock pot with some home made chicken broth and a few cloves of garlic. With 1-2 hours to go I add a bag of trader joe's 10 minute barley. The barley soaks up a lot of liquid so I use quite a lot of broth.(6 cups? I've never actually measured). I've cooked it anywhere from 4 hrs on high to 8 hours on low. I definitely recommend the latter if you have time! It's great the first day and even better the second.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
The recipe and picture sounds and look simple and bland, but followed the recipe exactly except doubled the onions and added a few cloves of garlic and it was the best pot roast I've ever eaten. Be sure and don't let it cook longer than the 2 1/2 hours, I let mine stay on warm for a hour after baking until everyone could get home to eat and it was getting close to being dry, but still AMAZING!!! The vegetables has a wonderful flavor and full of juice. I enjoyed the potatoes, I got from another recipe on this website, but my wife's picky pallet wasn't a fan. ONLY WAY I'VE EVER ENJOYED POTROAST
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Excellent Pot Roast - delicious and full of flavor. My family loves it! East to make. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Very easy to prepare, Very simple dish full of very complex flavores
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Imane
Home Town: Beirut, Beirut, Lebanon
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Thank you chef John. I always failed with pot roast. This recipe was great. Wouldn't change a thing. Turned out perfect. The veges were sweet and delish, meat fork tender just like you said. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States