Simple Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Very tasty & easy! I think that adding butter was a great idea since I included chunky potatoes. Cooked a 1.5 lb roast for 2 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This was so easy and so delicious! I did make an alteration to fit my taste. I did not use celery but added potatoes instead and I also added some minced garlic on top once in the roasting pan. I cooked everything the way the recipe said too and the meat was practically falling apart, the veggies nice and soft. It was out of this world :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
FREAKIN AWESOME!! My 3yr old loved it :) Used herbs de provence instead of rosemary...hate rosemary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixponies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I didn't have celery so I replaced it with other vegetables. However, the main concern is the flavor and consistency of the beef. I found this recipe to be the BEST. Ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiersten Schneider

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Thank you Chef John!! Definitely another winner here, absolutely the best pot roast I have ever made. I have to say that I was a little skeptical being there is no broth or liquid, but I have absolute faith in all of your recipes(I have made about 30 of them so far, all have been hits with my family) so I followed recipe exactly. Soooooo gooooood :) And I love your drawings, and of course your humor. My husband can always tell when I make a "Chef John" recipe because he enjoys it so much. His all time favorite is your Swedish Meatballs, in fact, I made them for his birthday! Thank you for making me a great cook, keep up the good work :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Be sure and trim the fat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This was everything I expected! Very tender. I like the vegetables on the bottom method. I will add a few more next time. I added garlic powder. Served it on horseradish mashed potatoes as recommended - delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
One of the best pot roast I ever had! Made as written but substituted mccormick just a pinch season all as I'm not a big fan of rosemary on its own.. Will make again but will also cut back on the butter to 2T. A 1/2 of stick was too much. For everyone saying it was dry, you need to use the celery, carrots and onions; this creates the juice in which it cooks.....Thanks for a great recipe...My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leelee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Haven't even cleared my plate and I came to talk about how good this is! We used a French Onion Spoon Roast pre-seasoned from the butcher. I added a couple chunky-cubed potatoes about an hour before the end time. My husband immediately asked if we could have this every week. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I have done roast similar to this before. I found the recipe fabulous. Keep up the good work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARLOLINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 91-100 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States