Simple Beef Flavored Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
a very simple and delicious gravy. However, you do have to prepare this in a certain order. First, use half the butter to sautee the onions until transluscent. Add the other half of the butter then the flour to make the roux. The best way to make a good roux is to use a whisk. Then, add the water and beef bouillon and continue to whisk until desired color and consistency. If the onions are finely chopped and cooked for the right amount of time, you don't even notice them in the gravy - they just melt away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
979 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
Good recipe, but like the others I changed the way I made it, not the ingredients I used. I sauteed the onion in the butter first, then I added the flour to make a roux. I browned the roux to give my gravy some color. Then I added the bouillion and the water. I used to 2 packets of beef boullion in mine, which I scaled for 2 people. Worked out well and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
What a wonderful, easy way to make gravy! It is especially nice to make with something like meatloaf, when you may not have beef drippings immediately available. I used 2 cups water to four boullion cubes, which worked perfectly. Added black pepper to taste, along with some Worcestershire for color and flavor. Make sure you make the roux first (cook the butter and flour together) so it will start to brown, then add the onions and the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCFoodDoc
Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
Very tasty but suggest the following: was too salty so I diluted it with more water; directions didn't indicate any particular way to put together so make sure you do so in this order to avoid lumps: melt butter, add flour and onion, mix together boullion and water and add to flour & butter mixture stirring constantly over medium high heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
Excellent after making a few changes! I like our gravy "browned" as it is in the packets you buy at the store. I put the flour in a hot saucepan and stirred it on medium heat until medium brown (don't burn!). In a seperate sauce pan I heated the butter and sauteed the onions until soft, then added the flour and 2 packets of bouillon. Adding the water slowly and whisking constantly stops it from sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
I have always tried making a good gravy and this was wonderful. Very easy and very tasty. I will always use this recipe from now on. Just like the other reviews melt butter, add flour then onion then mix together the boullion and the water and then pour with the butter mixture and only use 2 cups of water and 4 bouillons and you won't be disappointed with the results. Thank you very much we all enjoy this wonderful gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Excellent and easy gravy. Onions are key to the flavor. Best to saute the onions in the butter and then use Wondra flour which mixes quickly without lumps to make a roux. Then add the broth and cook to thicken. I used canned beef broth and it came out fantastic for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
This gravy was fabulous! I didn't have an onion so I used one tablespoon of onion powder. I took advice from other poster's reviews and made a roux. I also used 2 cups of water for four bouillon cubes. I could see that the gravy was going to be pretty light in color, so I added a little bit of Kitchen Bouquet to reach my desired color. The flavor, thickness, and color were all wonderful. I'll definitely be using this recipe again, of course with my own adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This is a very easy recipe for gravy. I don't add quite a whole onion, maybe a 1/4 of a large one. The only variations I used was a can of beef broth, and no boullion or water. I've also added 1/3 cup sour cream to the gravy to pour over Weinerschnizel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANASHA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sister Lakes, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
I made this gravy recipe with chicken bouillon instead of beef bouillon and it was great. Serve on top of roasted chicken and mashed potatoes with corn on the cob and biscuits on the side. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States