Simple Beef Flavored Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
I made this gravy recipe with chicken bouillon instead of beef bouillon and it was great. Serve on top of roasted chicken and mashed potatoes with corn on the cob and biscuits on the side. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2002
Gravy was very quick to make and was very easy! However, the end was result was very salty, maybe add a little less bouillon. For two people, cut the recipe in half. I also had to add a little more water because it was so thick. I will make again with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
Overall very good but I had to doctor it up a bit. Because I have to watch sodium in my diet, I used low-sodium bouillon and no-salt butter. Cuts the sodium down from 2,700 + mgs. to about 15 mgs. Because I was using a slow cooker, I doubled the recipe, cooking on the stove top first, then added a jar of beef gravy (this should take care of the lack of salt flavor) but found I had the opposite problem of the previous reviewer. It was way too thin. I sprinkled several Tbsp. of corn starch and that seemed to take care of the problem. I added about 1-1/4 lbs. of cubed beef and slow-cooked for several hours, then served over mashed potatoes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
Excellent after making a few changes! I like our gravy "browned" as it is in the packets you buy at the store. I put the flour in a hot saucepan and stirred it on medium heat until medium brown (don't burn!). In a seperate sauce pan I heated the butter and sauteed the onions until soft, then added the flour and 2 packets of bouillon. Adding the water slowly and whisking constantly stops it from sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
Very tasty but suggest the following: was too salty so I diluted it with more water; directions didn't indicate any particular way to put together so make sure you do so in this order to avoid lumps: melt butter, add flour and onion, mix together boullion and water and add to flour & butter mixture stirring constantly over medium high heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
This is an excellent, simple beef gravy recipe. Follow the advice of other's and add ingredients as they have instructed (butter & onion, then flour, etc.) and it should turn out smooth. It really has excellent flavor. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
Better than canned gravy but of course it can't compare to gravy made from meat drippings. If I make this again I'm going to try adding some spices. It needs more than just the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
Really liked this recipe. It was VERY simply and got rave reviews from my family. I used 2 cups of water and 4 beef bouillon cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
Quite good, as long as you do the onions, butter, and flour first and then add the other ingredients. I also added a little meat juice from the meatloaf I made, and it came out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
I loved this recipe! It was delicious, I scaled it down to 4 servings and used one beef boullion cube. I also added some worcestershire sauce to make the color more dark and it added flavor. Overall great flavor! It thickened really great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States