Simple Beef Flavored Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Outstanding! I doubled the recipe. Used beef broth in place of water and 2 bouillon cubes. Sauteed 1/2 cup finely chopped onion in half the butter. Then added remaining butter and flour to make a roux as stated by other reviewers. I did salt and pepper to taste. Will make again and again! This has been printed and added to my recipe book of favorites. Thanks Sal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This was very tasty. I was surprised at the amount of butter, but that's probably why it tasted so darn good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFuller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornish, Maine, USA
Living In: Scarborough, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
awesome recipe! will never buy canned gravy again! took advice of first review and this gravy came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Quick and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
great. sauted onions in butter and then added flour and made a rue. brown rue lightly. used canned beef broth and teaspoon tones beef base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
really good loved it makes the best gravy for beef stew
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Used Extra Virgin Olive Oil instead of the butter and it was really good. Will use this when I need a gravy and don't have enough drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Wow, great recipe! I followed other suggestions of cooking the butter and flour together first after the first batch didn't turn out. I used garlic powder and onion powder for taste and also a bit of Worchestershire (spelling?) sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tofield, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Excellent recipe. I added about 1 tbs of browning sauce to give it a deeper richer flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I have been making this gravy for years. the only addition is Gravy Master about a teaspoon. To give it a rich brown color. Also try mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrCrackers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States