Simple Beef Flavored Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This is hands down the best gravy I've ever had. I used it to top leftover Eileen's Meatloaf (also on this site) and mashed potatoes - delicious! I eyeballed the recipe as changing the servings skewed the numbers. I chopped down half an onion and sauteed in butter, roughly 6T, until softened. While that was cooking, I mixed 3 beef bullion cubes in 2 cups of hot water and set aside. I browned about 2 1/2 T flour, stirring constantly, then poured in the bullion water. Switched to a whisk immediately and swirled it the entire time the gravy thickened. I wasn't satisfied with the color so I added a few drops of Gravymasters - oh yes. Heaven. We found ourselves getting more meatloaf just to get the gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Nice and simple. easy to adjust for chicken or pork1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I was really impressed with this recipe; I did as recommended by other reviewers-sauteed the onions, whisked in the flour, etc.-then mixed in cooked hamburger and some frozen peas, straight from the freezer. Cooked it for another 5 minutes or so and voila! The peas were just the right touch, they balanced the onion and the bouillion and added just enough sweetness. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Fridy Rector

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
1 onion seemed to be too much onion, so I scaled down to 1/2 an onion and the gravy had a strong taste of onion still (I did make sure I sauteed the onion first in the butter until soft/tender). I used a medium sized yellow onion. If you really like the taste of onions in your gravy, then this recipe might be ok for you, it just wasn't to our liking. Follow the other reviews on instructions to make the gravy (making roux first, then add your liquid and bouillon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
My changes: 2 c hot water, 2 beef bouillon cubes, 1/2 onion, 1 tsp garlic powder, 1 1/2 tbs butter, and little less than 1/4 c flour. Put all ingredients into my Vitamix blender and blended on high for 4-5 mins till steam was coming from vents and gravy was heated through. Easy, tasty, and no saucepan to clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Best and easiest gravy ever! I used Land O lakes unsalted butter (trying to reduce sodium content) instead. My first written review!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Great recipe! I used broth in a box instead of water, then added an envelope of unsalted beef bullion, and onion powder instead of fresh onions.... later added beef drippings from roast beef out of the oven. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This just didn't work for us at all. I followed the recipe, but using the classic roux method. My husband asked "where's the beef?". This tasted to me like a canned onion gravy. He did say it was ok over mashed potatoes, but asked me not to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Awesome and super easy. I just used onion powder and it turned out fine. Put it through strainer because some of flour clumped up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Terriffic! Did this in these steps: Sauteed the onion then removed it from the pan the melted the remaining butter and slowly added the flour stirring until browned lightly like a roux, then added the water & bouillion...mmmmm... Wonderful! THNAKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States