Simple Beef Flavored Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
The onions cooked slowly due to cooking it in the wrong order making it stick to the bottom of the pan. See the suggestions of others here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Oh my gosh this is so good. I used better than bouillon beef base, about two spoonfuls. I reduced the amount of water to about 1 cup. It made a pretty thick delicious gravy. I will be using this from now on. My pattern of cooking this recipe was melting the butter and mixing in the beef base, mixing the flour and water separately and then slowly adding it into the mixture of butter and base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Simple is good,people! My only tweak next time would include sauteeing the minced onion first in half the allotted butter than adding the remaining butter when adding in the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Pretty tasty. I think I will use only half the onions next time. Went well with egg noodles and Italian meatballs for a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Didn't bother with a roux and omitted the butter all together. Seasoned mine with white pepper, black pepper, and worcestershire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I made Jane Crowly's version since I didn't have a onion. I added canned mushrooms and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
this is really great way to make a simple gravy! Awesome!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Love it! I used two beef bullion instead of three because I thought it would be to salty and added pepper. I didn't used the onion because I didn't have any in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I had some leftover potroast & my gravy from the night before was awful. I followed this recipe and added just a dash of worchestershire & gravy master along with a little salt & pepper. That was it. Threw it a sauce pan and kept stirring. Once blended, I added slices of my leftover roast to heat it up while I mashed potatoes. Perfect dinner & my granddaughter who does NOT like mashed potatoes, had 2 helpings with the GRAVY on it! This is a keeper for me. Would work for chicken too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States