Simple BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I gave it 3 stars because it's a great base for creating your own special BBQ sauce. I added liquid smoke, I don't know how much vinegar...maybe 1/2 cup, a tbs of dijon mustard, 6 oz tomato paste, some pepper flakes, and a whole package of onion mix. Alas, no matter how much I tried, I couldn't get it tangy enough without turning it into water. And I still thought it was way too sweet. If I had to start over, I'd reduce the brown sugar to 1/4 cup or less. The vinegar definitely helped too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorien Drechsler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I made this,was very good,but I made little change added 1tsp red chili paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Czarne Oki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Photo by Momma_Jones
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I'm not Mamma Jones, but Papa Jones. I will be using this simple recipe for rib night from now on. I was down to two tablespoons of bottled BBQ Sauce, when I went searching for a fridge and cupboard recipe. I found this and it did the trick. Easy to make and tasty too. Try it by the book, or modify to taste, it's good. Maybe a little Tabasco next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma_Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This was quick and easy. Loved the sweet flavor. I added just a bit of liquid smoke because I didn't have the Worcestershire sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay
Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wildomar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I tried it on grilled turkey wings it was off the hook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This is a sweet sauce, somewhat sweeter as-is than I would have cared for, and in the future I might modify it by adding less sugar or cutting the sweet with a little vinegar. However, I ate the whole pork chop I put this sauce on quickly, and was pretty eager for that next forkful, and the chops were tender and moist - so I can't give the sauce anything less than four stars. This is a great base recipe for cooks to start adapting to their own style. Thanks for sharing it -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I anticipated a Ketchupy BBQ sauce so I did alter mine a little bit.. I ommitted the worcestershire sauce (just don't like it for some reason) and added some ghost chili hot sauce, a jalapeno hot sauce, and a good amount of honey.. What I got was a kicked up, yet Tangy BBQ Sauce. I also simmered it in a small saucepan and did not have any grains of sugar or unblended ingredients. I have never made a BBQ sauce and wanted something a little different for my chicken tonight. This turned out AWESOME! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
from reading all the Review's I guess it's safe to say this is a good base for BBQ sauce. I substituted the brown sugar with honey, I started with 1/2 cup & added 1 more tsp. by doing that, I didnt have the grain problem that comes with the brown sugar, I give this 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce M Shirley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I made this one night because I was in a pinch for some bbq sauce for the brisket. It's simple to make and is easily adjusted to fit your tastes. I followed the review of someone else who mentioned adding hickory bbq sauce to it (but only after i tasted the original). Just stirred in enough to make it to my liking. You can adjust the amt of sugar, and Worcestershire sauce, to suit your tastes. I inadvertently dumped the whole packet of dry soup mix in, so I had to double the recipe... i froze the extra in a mayonnaise jar. Haven't used it yet to see how it fared after freezing. Will update this review when I find out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettygentle

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I am not one for bbq sauce, I have never really liked the taste of them. But this sauce is delicious, I just added a little more brownsugar and I doubled the worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States