Simple BBQ Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
Going to take the liberty of rating this five stars even though I did cook the ribs in water with one can of ale added. That was the only change because I've done it before and loved the little bit of added flavor. This was by far the very BEST I've made here at home. The entire family loved them AND they were on sale at our local Stop & Shop market for $1.49 a pound...nothing is better than that. Thank you Lloyd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
Delicious! Used boneless country ribs. Boiled in water with seasonings for 40 minutes. Put in disposable 13x9 pan. Used Montgomery Inn bbq sauce (cause I'm a Cincinnati girl). Cooked in oven for 1 hour. Simple recipe, every bite eaten by the family and simple clean up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
The key to these ribs is a minimum of 45 min boiling if you don't want them to be tuff.at least 1 hour cooking time. I boiled mine for 1 hour and the meat was falling off the bone.put them in oven for an hour, I also inject bbq sauce in the meat. it is so good when you do this, try it, you wont be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Wren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Not the best cook but learning... Everyone Loves this recipe. I boil for 45 minutes, cook 1 hour covered, 1/2 hour not covered and addd barbecue sauce. Meat fell off bone. Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Being alone now it's hard to cook for just one. I really love that these recipes can be changed to the amount of servings you need.ii I had 5 small boneless country style ribs. I love this recipe. It is super easy and is wonderful. You can make small changes or additions without altering the outcome! I ALWAYS Season my meat with salt and pepper before doing anything to it to begin the layer of flavors. Especially pork and chicken, they are somewhat bland and really need the help. Before placing the ribs in a pot of water, i seasoned them with salt, pepper, onion and garlic powder, and sprinkled with cumin and chili powder. I rubbed the seasoning into the meat, and,seared the meat in a hot skillet with a little canola oil! After searing on 1 side, after about 2-3 minutes, I placed them in the pot of water for slow boil, simmer about an hour. In the water i placed a clove of garlic i smashed to release its flavor a little.. I took the ribs out of the water and put in a casserole dish. I placed enough of the water to come up 1/2 on the meat to keep moist. I covered the dish with foil. I basted every 20-30 minutes until tender. Then I drained the liquid, uncovered and caramelized with just sauce. They were wonderful, flavorful, and super moist!! Great basic recipe to adapt any way you want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
Easy and delicious! I used spare ribs. Boiled them for an hour, then baked them for an hour (adding more BBQ sauce after 40 min.). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
Very simple recipe and tasty too. Great way to cook the Country Style Ribs - they are so large and meaty and don't come out as well when using other methods of cooking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
When boiling, I use 1/2 water, 1/2 apple juice. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Talena
Reviewed: May 6, 2015
These came out so good! I've never made ribs before and wasn't sure how long to boil and bake them, but I followed other reviews and boiled for 45 mins before baking for an hour. Every 20 mins I put on more bbq sauce and when the meat reached 160 degrees, I uncovered the dish, poured on more sauce and broiled for a few more minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
This was a very easy recipe to make! I disagree with people who say not to boil the ribs. It can be done and keep the taste, just don't use water. I used a combination of Guinness and beef broth for the liquid. I also added some garlic powder and some southwestern seasoning rub to the boil. I cooked a bit lower temperature, 275 for 2 1/2-3 hours. Finished them off on the grill--awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 916) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

Oven-Baked BBQ Ribs

No grill? No worries. These baked ribs are juicy and tasty.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States