Simple BBQ Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
UPDATE: I've started straining the cooking liquid and boiling potoates in it for either boiled or chunky mashed potatoes. I haven't done it yet but I think I'll try using the liqued to boil rice. I have been boiling ribs and chicken like this for years and years. I always add a generous amount of garlic powder, ground pepper and 1 onion cut into wedges. My secret ingredient is to add a good amount of soy sauce 1/2-1 C approx. Boil for 45 mins-1 hour. Turn off heat, cover pan and let ribs marinate in the broth for several hours (I have let them sit for 4-5 hours). Great to put in the oven especially during the winter months, but best on the grill. If you want to make ahead put cooled ribs into plastic bag and add enough BBQ sauce to coat well. Refrigerate until ready to use and then cook with additional sauce. Try this with chicken--you will love it. Just reduce the boiling time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1513 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
These ribs were just wonderful. I boiled them for about 45 minutes. I also followed the advice of others and put more BBQ sauce on the tops about 20 minutes before I took them out of the oven. A note to others...this only makes 4 SMALL portions/about 4 ribs each. I think everyone was left wanting more and not quite full. The ribs did come out incredibly tender and falling off the bone! I will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
I was always too intimidated to attempt making ribs. All I can say is WOW! They were so easy to make... I DID modify the cooking time: I boiled for only 1 hour and then cooked in the oven for only an hour as well. I wanted the meat tender but not falling completely off the bone as you picked it up, so I cut down on the cooking time (the meat still falling off the bone, but only while you were eating them, not while you were handling them). I also used pork baby back ribs, if that helps any of you... When boiling, I added salt and pepper, garlic and onion powder, and adobo seasoning. I did use a lot of seasoning, too (probably a teaspoon of each if not more - I used a big lobster pot to boil them in). I took some reviewers recommendations and I used the Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce. They have 3 or 4 different flavors, and instead of picking just one, I chose 3 different kinds and mixed them together: spicy, honey BBQ, and regular. Buy one bottle of sauce per rack of ribs you make, and buy one extra bottle as well! Some here basted theirs many times - I found that I only needed to do that twice. I cooked them in the oven for 30 mins, flipped them, recoated with sauce, and cooked another 30 minutes. And, I did all of this the night before a party. The day of the party, I separated all the ribs and cooked them for an additional 15 minutes on the BBQ... They were UNBELIEVABLE. I hope this info helps!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
968 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEADMEISTER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baldwin, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
These deserve 100 stars! Recommended ALL the way. So, I used boneless pork country style ribs, and they turned out very much like pulled pork. I boiled these with the seasoning for one hour. During that time I prepared my own BBQ Sauce (5 tbs ketchup, 5 tbs brown sugar, 2 tbs vinegar, 1 tbs lemon juice, 2 Worcestershire sauce, 1 teaspoon: salt, dry mustard powder and chili powder) After mixing it together and heating it up for a bit, I poured it over the ribs, and baked it for 1 & 1/2 hours. It makes them very sweet and juicy. I will make again and again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
377 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
I found this recipe here 2-3 years ago...make it all of the time! This is our favorite meal to take camping...complete 1st step at home a day or 2 before you go, boil in seasoned water, let cool a little, throw the pork in a ziplock or disposable Gladware, cover with bar-b-que sauce & freeze or refrigerate...throw them in your cooler, when you are ready to eat them, heat for about an hour in a disposable foil pan, covered tight with aluminum foil over a low fire...serve w/apple sauce, salad & dinner rolls-- eat great, even camping...no mess to clean up, just throw away the ziplock bag & foil pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
300 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
WOWEE!! I made these ribs last night for my boyfriend and I. He was in heaven! He said, and I quote " Honey, we are going to make ribs this way for the rest of our lives!" Yummy, tender juicy. I took the foil off during the last 5 or 10 minutes put a bit more sauce on them, cause it does all slide off during cooking and then broiled them to get the edges just a little dark and crispy, and they did not dry out at all! Thanks Lloyd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Very similar to my own rib recipe which is also 5 star! To enhance the flavor, cover the meat in equal parts beef broth and water, add one bottle of a "better" bbq sauce, (using a cheap variety will only give a vinegar like flavor to the ribs) add 5 cloves of finely sliced garlic, two onions cut into 8 parts, top 1/3 of a head of celery to include the celery leaves, and 1/4 cup worcheshire sauce. Turn off the stove after 1 hour on a low, slow boil and let sit for 1+ hours. Take out and place on a cookie sheet and lightly coat them with additional sauce until you are ready to finish them on the grill. Absolutely superb!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
We are rib-lovers and we go out for bbq ribs often, but this recipe is great for when we feel like staying in. It's so easy. I usually boil mine for 45 minutes before cooking them and they come out perfect every time. They really do fall off the bone. You do have to make sure to use a really thick bbq sauce - and use enough to completely cover the ribs. I love these ribs!! We've made them 5 times so far since finding the recipe a few months ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This ia a keeper..I boiled ribs for about 1 hour. I used a throw awy aluminum pan, easy clean up. I also used a whole bottle of Sweet Baby Ray Sauce. I basted periodically. Thanks Lloyd
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
If there was a 10 star rating, I would gladly give it! My ribs never turn out and these fell right off the bone-only a fork required. My husband said he would pay for ribs like this. I've shared this recipe with everyone. It will be included in my personal cookbook. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! YUM! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 840) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

Oven-Baked BBQ Ribs

No grill? No worries. These baked ribs are juicy and tasty.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States