Simple Baked Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Really good recipe. I made it in quantity for a charity. One hint: for whatever reason, we are never told to wash rice first in the US. Every culture that eats rice as a staple washes it first in cool water until the water runs clear. It makes a huge difference in the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rikkor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I halfed it for 2 people and skipped the celery. I used some preshredded carrots and it is worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandywinefalls

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I confess I was lazy and was looking for an easy side dish so I could cook all the dishes in the oven at once and forget about it. I followed this recipe exactly, including using my homemade chicken broth which exceeds anything store bought. This was perfect. I did have to increase the oven time, but I have a slow oven. It had the right amount of flavor without overpowering the main dish. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I made this using medium grain rice and it was absolutely perfect. Flavor is great. I omitted the celery and carrots since I didn't have any in the fridge and it was a perfect side to lemon chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: May 30, 2015
I ALWAYS have carrots on hand but on the particular day I made this I found my crisper void of carrots and it was already too late to run to the store. I managed to round up half of an orange bell and had to use it in place of carrot. Simple is right and this pairs nicely with most any meat. I served this with cornish hens I smoked in the smoker and then turned around and served it with ham from the smoker the very next day and it worked great with both. This will be my go to recipe when I am needing a side dish for my meat. Thanks for sharing Arizona Desert Flower!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
Just tried this recipe and it turned out perfectly. I was so proud of my work since I suck at cooking. I used vegetable broth since it was the only thing i had handy. I will make again and again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Herrera

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Tasty family pleaser. I prefer a little more spice, but husband and very picky rice hating daughter asked for seconds :) We had this as a lighter alternative to fried rice with chicken teriyaki skewers. Can easily be adapted to suit any taste (I always stay true to recipes as written the first time around)and has a much better chicken flavor than when boiled in broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
My guys really liked this super simple baked rice. I liked the ease of the recipe. You could add whatever vegetables your family enjoys to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This was okay. I used a 2-quart casserole, leaving it covered the entire time, and the rice was a little dry for our taste. This is a nice basic dish; next time I'll use a smaller casserole and add a tiny bit more fluid and adjust the flavors a bit, depending on what else I am serving. A nice way to use the oven for a side dish if you're already baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I appreciated that I was able to utilize the other half of the oven while I baked chicken but this was just "alright". The only change I made, by necessity, was to use brown rice, because that's all I had in the pantry, but I don't think that white rice would have made this dish any better. I found this bland. Not awful--I might very well make it again to go with an exceptionally flavorful main course to avoid a clash--but it didn't stand out either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States