Simple Baked Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I made a few changes but what an easy and comforting dish! I used my crockpot and just loaded it full of sliced apples ( I think I used 8-10), peels on, mixed in the other ingredients and then added about 1/4 cup of apple cider in place of the milk. I figured the 1/2 cup might be too much! I put it on high and in a few hours I had a fantastic dessert that the whole family loved! We ate it warm with some cool whip on top, since I didn't have any ice cream! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
625 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VTmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I followed the recipe's ingredients exactly, and the results were delicious! After peeling and cutting the apples, I put them in a large ziploc bag, added the spices, and shook the bag to coat the apples. This worked very well! I then added the remainder of the ingredients and shook them together before pouring them into the baking dish. It was super easy, and the apples were evenly coated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
396 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I'm just 13 and i absolutely love to cook and bake. My family went apple picking this weekend and i wanted to make a dessert that was quick and sweet. I added some things to this recipe to make it even better. I sprinkled brown sugar on the apples before baking which gave them a gooey, sweeter coating and topped with granola. Sooo goood. Anybody can make this, please try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
318 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacyD01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Pretty good! I upped the amount of cinnamon, and left out the other spices. I also omitted the raisins and nuts because I didn't have any on hand. I also added 1 teaspoon of pure vanilla extract - which turned out great. While baking, I covered it with foil to retain moisture, as other reviewers (Christy7795) suggested. All in all, I will make this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
My family really liked this recipe. I made just a couple of minor changes. I omitted the cloves, and added a few drops of vanilla extract to the milk before pouring it over the apples. I also put a few thin slices of stick butter on top of the apple mixture right before I put it in the oven. It turned out great! I'm sure I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blacklick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Absolutely YUMMY! Made it with Splenda in place of the sugar because I'm diabetic and my daughter is always on a diet. Used a handful of frozen cranberries for color and tart counterpoint. Makes a lovely dessert. This would be wonderful served hot with a scoop of vanilla ice cream melting on top. It's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
This is really good! It is so quick and easy to make. It is just like apple crisp without the topping. I didn't have raisins, but it was good with the walnuts. You could also use Craisins (dried cranberries); that would be good. I think next time I will also add some chopped sweet potato. This is great for anyone! Much easier than making apple crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I didn't add raisins or walnuts and used skim milk, and they were still delicious. I'll be making again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wayne City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Salem, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Delicious with or without the walnuts. Very easy to make and goes great with pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I used skim milk because it was all I had. This would have been much better with the whole milk that it calls for. I sprinkled brown sugar on top of them after they had baked and that added a lot! It was good. Make sure you use whole milk.:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 398) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States