Simple Baked Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
We had a lot of apples left in the fridge from the holidays, and I was looking for a quick recipe to make with pork chops. This was just right. It was equally perfect for a little dessert the next day with some vanilla ice cream. And though I wouldn't necessarily have something this sweet for breakfast, just a spoonful mixed into my plain oatmeal was a real treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
....what to do with over the hill apples! Great to make with grandkids of a gloomy afternoon, nutritious and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I left the apples unpealed, skipped the walnuts, used apple cider instead of milk, and patted the top with a little butter before baking. It turned out great and sized up well for a larger crowd! It reminded me of the baked apples we used to get at Stouffer's Sunday brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
What a wonderful ligth desert, since you posted the recipe, I have made it many times already. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Easy to do! KEEP SKINS ON FOR COLOR! I baked Rome apples at 375 for 20 mins covered with foil, then 350 for 20 mins, uncovered. Left out cloves. Used only 1/4 cup of Splenda, made it sweet enough. Came out perfect and pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrianne Son-Hing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Simple, good and fairly healthy. I halved the sugar as I was using sweet apples. Might add a touch of brown sugar in the future. UPDATE: Made this again as I loved the flavors. Last time, I made this with almond milk as I can't have dairy. Made it again with light coconut milk. Plus, I added the full half a cup of sugar as indicated in the recipe. However, I just filled most of the half cup measuring utensil with white sugar then packed on about two or three tablespoons of brown sugar. YUM! Cannot stop eating this delicious treat! Oh, and I also used 1.5 tablespoons of cornstarch rather than the flour. It is a bit runny, but I think the sauce is what makes it great. Might go for 2 tablespoons cornstarch next time to see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Liked these a lot. Put them in the slow cooker on low for about 1 1/2 hours; subbed apple juice for the milk, and omitted the raisins and walnuts. I also subbed a bit of allspice for the cloves. A little too sweet for breakfast or a side dish for me, but perfect for dessert. May cut down on the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHARBEAR613
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I thought this was very delicious with some minor adjustments. I used three green apples and three red apples which allowed a great sweet & sour mix of the apples. I added 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. I used 1/4 cup sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar. Next time I will delete the flour and use apple cider vs. milk. I felt the sauce was way to thick and gooey. It was so good and a big hit with my daughter. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARBEAR613

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
My husband raved about this recipe! The milk did curtle a little bit. I will probably use apple cider next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 406) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States