Simple Baked Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Fabulous. I followed the recipe, except I omitted the walnuts, only because my husband doesn't care for them. I also added a handful of red hots. I put a lid on the dish the last 15 minutes. Added this to my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I tried this recipe this afternoon and it tasted pretty good. I didn't have nutmeg so I substituted allspice which worked out pretty well. The sauce, however, had a horrible consistency. The next time I try it I think I'll use less flour and a bit more sugar (half white, half brown).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paris Hensley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Sorry to say we did not like this recipe, won't make again. Maybe it was the flour..not sure but tasted off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Bailey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
What a great recipe and so easy to play with! Made this yesterday as is and the kids loved it! Today we made it again and modified it a bit just for fun. We used brown sugar instead of white and cut the amount in half. We also omitted the nuts and added 3 slices of cooked & chopped applewood smoked bacon and served with porkchops. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Made this in the slow cooker to serve with thick-cut pork chops on the grill. Wonderful. Very mellow, comforting dish. Easy and delicious. I made it exactly as written but omitted the nuts (kids won't eat them). Loved it! Thank you for a wonderful recipe that I will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I've tried this 2 ways--crockpot and oven. I overcooked it in the crockpot--watch out for mushy apples/applesauce! Used Granny Smith apples for the tartness. This is a lovely dish for cooler temps. I like the addition of vanilla and about 1-2 Tbsp of butter. I used pumpkin pie spice--thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Omitted the raisins and walnuts, I really did not like the consistency of the sauce, I think from the addition of the milk. I much prefer skillet apples with butter, sugar and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I really didnt care for the flour flavor. Otherwise this was good. Ill omit the flour next time and maybe add some vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Had to make this twice to get it right. Even with thin apples slices, it needed over 1 hour cook time and good stir at 45 minutes. The applies need to touch the milk to soften fast enough - so I also switched to a 3 qt 9x13 pan. You can cut the sugar in half without noticing it in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Upon removal from the oven, it looked nice, but underneath it wasn't very attractive. Tasted good, but was really runny and the milk curdled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 402) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States