Simple Baked Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was amazing! I made it in the crockpot, per some other reviews, and because my oven was occupied with other food. I put all the ingredients (not raisins or walnuts) and used 1/4 cup apple cider instead of milk. I cooked it on high for about 2.5 hours and it was perfect withe vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shoeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
It wasnt gooey sweet instead it was clumpy. The clove was very strong so I wouldn't add 1/4 tsp. I don't I'll make this again. I was able to eat it but I didn't love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
i did not even really get to taste this recipe. i might be totally clueless about the whole thing but it appears that you must eat the whole recipe as soon as you bake it because i saved it for the next day and by that time the apples had black (oxidized) splotches on them and the "dressing" type mixture looked bad and was a black mushy goo. I tried to eat a few pieces that were less tarred but I ended up just chucking it. Too bad, this recipe sounded so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Nice recipe!! By the way if you guys are looking for more recipes check out this site too They have lots of recipes on there that aren't on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This recipe is easy and works great exactly as written or with changes. I've made it 5 or 6 times. Tonight, I was out of milk and raisins. I used whole wheat flour. Also, I have found that the walnuts turn out crunchier if sprinkled over the top rather than mixed in. Per other reviewer suggestions, I like to use vanilla extract in the mix. I was out of vanilla tonight, so I used butterscotch schnappes. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MapleFudge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I was craving baked apples and found this recipe. I followed directions almost exactly but omitted cloves. I found it very plain and the liquid wasn't sweet the way I like it. The milk made it that way I'm guessing. I also used brown sugar instead of white . Still wasn't good enough that I would ever make again. Will stick to my granny smith apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Mixed reviews at my house. It seemed a little holiday and was a great side dish/semi-dessert for roasted pork loin. I loved the spices, raisins, and nuts, but my husband prefers a plain cinnamon/sugar mix on his apples. My daughter (who will eat anything) had this with her supper and again over a pancake for breakfast the next morning. Overall it was a nice change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Made as written (except whisked the milk in with flour, sugar, spice mixture ..instead of pouring milk over the top. Then tossed apples to coat. Seemed easier that way.) Stirred halfway through & again before serving. Served with vanilla icecream to the kids. Good without icecream for the adults! Be sure to use 6 LARGE apples! This may be why too spicy for some reviewers. May cut back on nutmeg next time. Loved the walnuts (pulsed in foodprocessor) might add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaiosh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
A fantastic way to use extra apples of any variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYFANWYS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This recipe was de-lish! On spur-of-the-moment we invited people over to watch football, and I wondered what I could make for dessert that wouldn't involve a supermarket trip. This is simple, quick to put together (though it bakes for 45 min), & made with ingredients you most likely have around the house except for maybe walnuts. I think this would be fine without the nuts, but they do provide a nice crunch in place of a crust. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debgio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 409) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Chef John's Baked Apple Roses

Dessert made from puff pastry, apples, and cinnamon sugar, shaped as roses.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States