Simple Baked Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Omitted the raisins and walnuts, I really did not like the consistency of the sauce, I think from the addition of the milk. I much prefer skillet apples with butter, sugar and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I really didnt care for the flour flavor. Otherwise this was good. Ill omit the flour next time and maybe add some vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Had to make this twice to get it right. Even with thin apples slices, it needed over 1 hour cook time and good stir at 45 minutes. The applies need to touch the milk to soften fast enough - so I also switched to a 3 qt 9x13 pan. You can cut the sugar in half without noticing it in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Upon removal from the oven, it looked nice, but underneath it wasn't very attractive. Tasted good, but was really runny and the milk curdled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This was so easy and turned out great! I only had four apples to use up, so I used maybe 2 Tbs less sugar than called for. I didn't have ground cloves or walnuts but it still turned out great and plenty sweet. Perfect with vanilla ice cream! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This recipe was great! I used vanilla almond milk because that is all I had on hand. I used granny smith and red delicious apples as well. On suggested based by other I used a combination of white and brown sugar because I think brown sugar really brings out the taste in tart apples. That is a personal preference however! I took this to lunch the next day with a baked sweet potato, loaded up the baked apple mixture and tossed some marshmallows on top and microwaved until warm, melty and oooy gooey. Everyone was asking what the delicious smell was coming from the break room!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I used granny smith apples, and I think it would have been a lot better with a different variety. I loved the spice, nuts, and raisin mixture. I might try it again with a different type of apple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This makes a great cold-weather side dish. I followed the directions exactly only omitting raisins since we don't care for them. Only change was to stir the apples halfway through for even baking. Turned out terrific, not too sweet, which makes it a good side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Was delicious. But I will reduce the cooking time next time to 35 mins. I have a gas super stove. Lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
It definitely needs whipped cream or vanilla ice cream to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States