Simple Baked Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This recipe is easy and works great exactly as written or with changes. I've made it 5 or 6 times. Tonight, I was out of milk and raisins. I used whole wheat flour. Also, I have found that the walnuts turn out crunchier if sprinkled over the top rather than mixed in. Per other reviewer suggestions, I like to use vanilla extract in the mix. I was out of vanilla tonight, so I used butterscotch schnappes. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MapleFudge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I was craving baked apples and found this recipe. I followed directions almost exactly but omitted cloves. I found it very plain and the liquid wasn't sweet the way I like it. The milk made it that way I'm guessing. I also used brown sugar instead of white . Still wasn't good enough that I would ever make again. Will stick to my granny smith apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Mixed reviews at my house. It seemed a little holiday and was a great side dish/semi-dessert for roasted pork loin. I loved the spices, raisins, and nuts, but my husband prefers a plain cinnamon/sugar mix on his apples. My daughter (who will eat anything) had this with her supper and again over a pancake for breakfast the next morning. Overall it was a nice change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Made as written (except whisked the milk in with flour, sugar, spice mixture ..instead of pouring milk over the top. Then tossed apples to coat. Seemed easier that way.) Stirred halfway through & again before serving. Served with vanilla icecream to the kids. Good without icecream for the adults! Be sure to use 6 LARGE apples! This may be why too spicy for some reviewers. May cut back on nutmeg next time. Loved the walnuts (pulsed in foodprocessor) might add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaiosh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
A fantastic way to use extra apples of any variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYFANWYS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This recipe was de-lish! On spur-of-the-moment we invited people over to watch football, and I wondered what I could make for dessert that wouldn't involve a supermarket trip. This is simple, quick to put together (though it bakes for 45 min), & made with ingredients you most likely have around the house except for maybe walnuts. I think this would be fine without the nuts, but they do provide a nice crunch in place of a crust. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debgio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I'll use a little less nutmeg next time...but it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I followed the advice of a previous reviewer and tossed the ingredents into the crock pot. This was easy and would be great for hot summer days when you want something sweet but don't want to heat the oven. My partner and I both don't like raisins and I don't eat nuts in food so I left those out and made her a walnut syrup topping to go on her's and made homeade whip cream to top all. This will be a go to next time I will half the apples, core and place skin side down. I will also mix all the other ingredients together and then pour over the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I use brown sugar instead of white, and usually omit raisins and nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
We had a lot of apples left in the fridge from the holidays, and I was looking for a quick recipe to make with pork chops. This was just right. It was equally perfect for a little dessert the next day with some vanilla ice cream. And though I wouldn't necessarily have something this sweet for breakfast, just a spoonful mixed into my plain oatmeal was a real treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 405) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States