Simple Baked Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Simple, good and fairly healthy. I halved the sugar as I was using sweet apples. Might add a touch of brown sugar in the future. UPDATE: Made this again as I loved the flavors. Last time, I made this with almond milk as I can't have dairy. Made it again with light coconut milk. Plus, I added the full half a cup of sugar as indicated in the recipe. However, I just filled most of the half cup measuring utensil with white sugar then packed on about two or three tablespoons of brown sugar. YUM! Cannot stop eating this delicious treat! Oh, and I also used 1.5 tablespoons of cornstarch rather than the flour. It is a bit runny, but I think the sauce is what makes it great. Might go for 2 tablespoons cornstarch next time to see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Liked these a lot. Put them in the slow cooker on low for about 1 1/2 hours; subbed apple juice for the milk, and omitted the raisins and walnuts. I also subbed a bit of allspice for the cloves. A little too sweet for breakfast or a side dish for me, but perfect for dessert. May cut down on the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHARBEAR613
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I thought this was very delicious with some minor adjustments. I used three green apples and three red apples which allowed a great sweet & sour mix of the apples. I added 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. I used 1/4 cup sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar. Next time I will delete the flour and use apple cider vs. milk. I felt the sauce was way to thick and gooey. It was so good and a big hit with my daughter. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARBEAR613

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
My husband raved about this recipe! The milk did curtle a little bit. I will probably use apple cider next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I loved this, as did my husband and 2 year old. I didn't use the cloves since I didn't have any, and used chopped almonds in place of the walnuts. Instead of whole milk, I used 1%, and it turned out great. I will definitely make this again. A healthier version of apple crisp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Good! Halved it just fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This was SO yummy! However, I made a few changes...First, I didn't have any nutmeg, so I just doubled the cinnamon to compensate. Then, I added about 1/2 cup of brown sugar to the mix and about 1/2 a cup of quick oats. Then I sprinkled about 1/4 of brown sugar over the top of the apples before baking. I also substituted cream for the milk (but only because that is what I had on hand). SOOOOOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
The apples turned out pretty good when served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Had some issues with milk flour skin residue at the bottom. Not the best I've ever made but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Delicious!! I used organic sugar, omitted the flour(don't eat grains), left out the walnuts(had none), and used 2% milk. Everyone enjoyed it. The only problem I had with it was that it was too sweet for my tastes. No one else in my family thought so though. Next time I will either cut the sugar in half or just leave it out altogether and maybe use some honey instead. I will definitely make this again!! Loved it especially because after I omitted the flour it became the perfect grain-free treat. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
My family loved these apples. I will definitely make them again. I followed the recipe to the letter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States