Simple Baked Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This recipe was de-lish! On spur-of-the-moment we invited people over to watch football, and I wondered what I could make for dessert that wouldn't involve a supermarket trip. This is simple, quick to put together (though it bakes for 45 min), & made with ingredients you most likely have around the house except for maybe walnuts. I think this would be fine without the nuts, but they do provide a nice crunch in place of a crust. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debgio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I'll use a little less nutmeg next time...but it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I followed the advice of a previous reviewer and tossed the ingredents into the crock pot. This was easy and would be great for hot summer days when you want something sweet but don't want to heat the oven. My partner and I both don't like raisins and I don't eat nuts in food so I left those out and made her a walnut syrup topping to go on her's and made homeade whip cream to top all. This will be a go to next time I will half the apples, core and place skin side down. I will also mix all the other ingredients together and then pour over the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I use brown sugar instead of white, and usually omit raisins and nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
We had a lot of apples left in the fridge from the holidays, and I was looking for a quick recipe to make with pork chops. This was just right. It was equally perfect for a little dessert the next day with some vanilla ice cream. And though I wouldn't necessarily have something this sweet for breakfast, just a spoonful mixed into my plain oatmeal was a real treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
....what to do with over the hill apples! Great to make with grandkids of a gloomy afternoon, nutritious and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I left the apples unpealed, skipped the walnuts, used apple cider instead of milk, and patted the top with a little butter before baking. It turned out great and sized up well for a larger crowd! It reminded me of the baked apples we used to get at Stouffer's Sunday brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
What a wonderful ligth desert, since you posted the recipe, I have made it many times already. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Easy to do! KEEP SKINS ON FOR COLOR! I baked Rome apples at 375 for 20 mins covered with foil, then 350 for 20 mins, uncovered. Left out cloves. Used only 1/4 cup of Splenda, made it sweet enough. Came out perfect and pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States