Simple Baked Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
very good. I ate it by itself, but it seems it would make an excellent topping to waffles or pancakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This was a big hit! The only thing differently I will do next time is cover the casserole dish in the oven. They didn't come out "bubbly," just "done." (I may have completely missed the part about covering the casserole dish.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I used this recipe to the letter- it's brilliant. It makes my home smell almost as good as this wonderful dish tastes. I've made the recipe several times, (it works each and every one) and a couple times I've even left the peels on the apples, which is also delightful if you don't have time for peeling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
It was pretty bad. Didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I cut the recipe in half and reduced the sugar down to 1/8th of a cup. I used Granny Smith apples and used 1 teaspoon homemade apple pie spice. I really think this would be just as good with either brown sugar, honey or even maple syrup. I'd really like to try this with pecans next time. This is almost like crisp filling. GREAT with plain yogurt spooned over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Oh, so yummy. I made these as a filling for tomorrow morning's crepes. I pretty love anything that involves apples and cinnamon. I also love raisins, so this dish was right up my alley. I did only make 1/2 of the recipe, as I am the only one who feels that way in this house. I also used brown sugar as some previous reveiwers suggested. Made the house smell so good, and the milk with the sugar and spices bakes into this wonderful caramel sauce. I can't wait for tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
5 Stars with simple changes. Increased the dried fruit, used fruit juice to keep it moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I left the skins on, used brown sugar instead of white and doubled the walnuts. Great sweet treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
No one was eating the apples and they needed to be used, so where else would I go but to AR to find something to do with them? :-) This was quick and easy and hit the spot. Only change I made was to sub 1/4 cup brown sugar for 1/4 cup of the white, but next time I make this I will just drop the white sugar altogether as it was plenty sweet and drowned the taste of the apples. I think I'll also cut down on the raisins too. I also skipped the walnuts since we don't like them anyhow and used FF milk instead of whole milk and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Holy Cow this is good. My family liked it even better than regular apple crisp. The only thing I did differently is used 1/3C splenda and doubled the cinnamon, it was plenty sweet. We had leftovers and I used it in my oatmeal--delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States