Simple Baked Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Sorry to say we did not like this recipe, won't make again. Maybe it was the flour..not sure but tasted off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
What a great recipe and so easy to play with! Made this yesterday as is and the kids loved it! Today we made it again and modified it a bit just for fun. We used brown sugar instead of white and cut the amount in half. We also omitted the nuts and added 3 slices of cooked & chopped applewood smoked bacon and served with porkchops. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Made this in the slow cooker to serve with thick-cut pork chops on the grill. Wonderful. Very mellow, comforting dish. Easy and delicious. I made it exactly as written but omitted the nuts (kids won't eat them). Loved it! Thank you for a wonderful recipe that I will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I've tried this 2 ways--crockpot and oven. I overcooked it in the crockpot--watch out for mushy apples/applesauce! Used Granny Smith apples for the tartness. This is a lovely dish for cooler temps. I like the addition of vanilla and about 1-2 Tbsp of butter. I used pumpkin pie spice--thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Omitted the raisins and walnuts, I really did not like the consistency of the sauce, I think from the addition of the milk. I much prefer skillet apples with butter, sugar and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I really didnt care for the flour flavor. Otherwise this was good. Ill omit the flour next time and maybe add some vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Had to make this twice to get it right. Even with thin apples slices, it needed over 1 hour cook time and good stir at 45 minutes. The applies need to touch the milk to soften fast enough - so I also switched to a 3 qt 9x13 pan. You can cut the sugar in half without noticing it in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Winnetka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Upon removal from the oven, it looked nice, but underneath it wasn't very attractive. Tasted good, but was really runny and the milk curdled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This was so easy and turned out great! I only had four apples to use up, so I used maybe 2 Tbs less sugar than called for. I didn't have ground cloves or walnuts but it still turned out great and plenty sweet. Perfect with vanilla ice cream! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This recipe was great! I used vanilla almond milk because that is all I had on hand. I used granny smith and red delicious apples as well. On suggested based by other I used a combination of white and brown sugar because I think brown sugar really brings out the taste in tart apples. That is a personal preference however! I took this to lunch the next day with a baked sweet potato, loaded up the baked apple mixture and tossed some marshmallows on top and microwaved until warm, melty and oooy gooey. Everyone was asking what the delicious smell was coming from the break room!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States