Simple Baked Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I tried this recipe this afternoon and it tasted pretty good. I didn't have nutmeg so I substituted allspice which worked out pretty well. The sauce, however, had a horrible consistency. The next time I try it I think I'll use less flour and a bit more sugar (half white, half brown).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paris Hensley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Sorry to say we did not like this recipe, won't make again. Maybe it was the flour..not sure but tasted off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
What a great recipe and so easy to play with! Made this yesterday as is and the kids loved it! Today we made it again and modified it a bit just for fun. We used brown sugar instead of white and cut the amount in half. We also omitted the nuts and added 3 slices of cooked & chopped applewood smoked bacon and served with porkchops. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Made this in the slow cooker to serve with thick-cut pork chops on the grill. Wonderful. Very mellow, comforting dish. Easy and delicious. I made it exactly as written but omitted the nuts (kids won't eat them). Loved it! Thank you for a wonderful recipe that I will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I've tried this 2 ways--crockpot and oven. I overcooked it in the crockpot--watch out for mushy apples/applesauce! Used Granny Smith apples for the tartness. This is a lovely dish for cooler temps. I like the addition of vanilla and about 1-2 Tbsp of butter. I used pumpkin pie spice--thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Omitted the raisins and walnuts, I really did not like the consistency of the sauce, I think from the addition of the milk. I much prefer skillet apples with butter, sugar and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I really didnt care for the flour flavor. Otherwise this was good. Ill omit the flour next time and maybe add some vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Had to make this twice to get it right. Even with thin apples slices, it needed over 1 hour cook time and good stir at 45 minutes. The applies need to touch the milk to soften fast enough - so I also switched to a 3 qt 9x13 pan. You can cut the sugar in half without noticing it in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Winnetka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Upon removal from the oven, it looked nice, but underneath it wasn't very attractive. Tasted good, but was really runny and the milk curdled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This was so easy and turned out great! I only had four apples to use up, so I used maybe 2 Tbs less sugar than called for. I didn't have ground cloves or walnuts but it still turned out great and plenty sweet. Perfect with vanilla ice cream! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States