Simple Artichoke Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This recipe is the perfect base for any hot artichoke dip. Make it just the way it is 1-1-1 or mix it up with some chopped jalepenos, spinach, green peppers or roasted garlic. Depending on the crowd I serve it to, I adjust it accordingly. The only downfall, there's never enough. When making for a crowd make a quadruple batch at least. It even works in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
I've been making this dip for years also. It's one of my favorites. I add a sprinkle of garlic salt and definitely use Hellman's. Once time for a change I decided to spread the dip on a Boboli' crust and bake it. I cut it up into small slices. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOURMETGAL2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Very tasty. Would add a 1/2-tablespoon of lemon juice, 1/2 tsp. garlic powder, and maybe some Worsteshire sauce. Make sure to rinse the artichoke hearts, otherwise fishy taste occurs. Also, bake a few more minutes for extra golden top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
Fabulous dip and totally idiot proof! SO simple and so good....this is one of my "go to" recipes when we have company. It turns out best when you use Hellman's mayo....don't use the light mayo, it doesn't work as well! I also throw in a couple of minced garlic cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
My mom used to make this, and I forgot how good it was until I came across the recipe here and made it over the holidays. No one I've served it to believes it's only 3 ingredients. I find that it's easiest to chop the artichokes in the food processor. I also like to mix all the ingredients and let it chill over night so the flavors can blend. It also comes out best if you use freshly grated or 'premium' (found in your grocer's deli case or cheese case) parmesan, rather than the stuff in a can. I also recommend using Hellmann's mayo for the best results. Thanks for reminding me what a simple, but great recipe this is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
I frequently make this artichoke dip recipe with the addition of fresh chopped garlic. Fantastic baked as a dip, but also quite delicious when spooned into mini phyllo cups and baked until bubbly ~ rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
GREAT AND EASY RECIPE!! JUST DONT FORGET TO ADD LEMON JUICE....IVE BEEN MAKING THIS FOR YEARS NOW BUT ALWAYS ADD THE LEMON JUICE IT KICKS IT UP A NOTCH. BIG HIT AT ALL MY PARTIES!!!!! have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
Thank you. I finally found my favorite dip, from years past. This is the best dip, goes well with a toasted bagel or vegies or any dip friendly foods. Yes, it's true, you can't use generic mayo. I think Helmans or Kraft brand mayo works best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Great with a small can of green chiles added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
I added a couple large cloves of garlic...FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States