Simon and Garfunkel Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I thought the addition of the water was unnecessary. Meats cooked for long periods in the crock pot tend to let out lots of juice, anyway. If I had more time, I would have tried to add some cornstarch or flour to thicken the gravy up. I did add red potatoes and carrots while cooking. It was just ok to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This pot roast was fine. I personally noticed nothing exceptional about it and nothing bad about it. It was fairly easy, though because I added vegetables (potatoes, carrots, and pearl onions) there was a bit of peeling and chopping prep time. It smelled absolutely delicious while cooking, though didn't taste as strong as it smelled. I was also very hesitant about jarred gravy, but mixing it with the water helped thin it out and taste a bit more natural. I'll make it again if I have home made gravy on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauralovesfood!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ovenmitt2
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I made this tonight.. loved it. Good old fashioned chuck roast dinner. I removed the meat (which I doubled, but kept the gravy and seasoning the same)and kept it warm and found the gravy to be kinda thin and bland, so I seasoned it with some beef base, onion powder, salt and pepper. Then thickened it, on high, with some flour and water. Two thumbs up by my family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ovenmitt2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Madison, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This was okay, my husband did eat 2nds but said it had too much rosemary in it and I agree. Also needs garlic. I followed the recipe as is except I added some garlic salt and used onion powder. I also added chopped green onions, baby carrots and potatoes. I thickened the gravy with a cornstarch slurry too. I liked it, but the rosemary gave me heartburn as it does when I have too much, though I like the taste. I will make again, but reducing the rosemary and trying the parsley with it too. Oh yes, I did sear this in a hot skillet per other reviewer's suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Ha Ha! Need to add parsley if you are going to call it Simon and Garfunkel! I have a S & G Roasted chicken! Parsley, Sage, Rosemary and Thyme!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Everyone in my family liked this, mmm mmm good! I did change up a bit, I browned the roast first and I used 1c merlot and 1c beef broth in place of the 3c water and I added that to the pan that I browned the roast in. I used two cloves garlic and 1T of parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Zulkowsky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Add the parsley for a garnish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
No, Heinz gravy in a jar is not home-made, but it comes close! Now add a big chunk of beef and slow cook it in the gravy with spices, and that gravy is a whole lot more homemade! I think this is a good recipe for a crock pot, which doesn't necessitate making gravy as an additional step. Love the flavors. Use of spices is your judgement call. Why not mix everything in a small bowl and then decide how much you want to add? I liked the idea of coating the meat with the spices and then browning, i think it added a dimension of flavor! But then again, it was another step of work!! Either way, this is a delicious, EASY roast dinner with gravy, that cooks while you do something else!! Good work Desimone!! I love it and will make this again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Orange, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I add parsley, sage rosemary and thyme. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Sounds good, but.... Where is the parsley?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States