Simmered Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
not really tasty.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
You HAVE to reallllly like tomatoes. I loved this dish. It was easy and cheap to make and flavorful. My daughter however was not a fan, she said it tasted too tomato-y. I however thought it was excellent. It turned out so tender too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This recipe is awesome. I have made it several times, and I love it. The steak is tender, and the sauce is awesome. I wasn't sure about the potato flakes, but I think that is what makes it so good. I added more spices, and I have also added green and/or red peppers, and that is good also. My family loves it. *** I also have since made this recipe in the crock pot and in a dutch oven with equally successful results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was really good & tender & easy! The only change was slight, I used 1c of broth because some had commented that there was some loss of liquid - but we probably would have been alright with the 1/2c. That or we'll use more steak next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I was looking to replicate the swiss steak my grandpa used to make. I actually preferred the sauce more than what I remember as this one didn't have green peppers. Although, I ended up adding nearly 2 more cans of diced tomatoes! Even though I simmered on low, the liquid kept evaporating. And, that is the best part over mashed potatoes, in my opinnion. I ended up using a really tender cut of meat, because it was all I had. And, this strangely turned the meat to "RUBBER!" After an hour on low the meat should have been very tender. I plan to serve the extra gravy I made with the mashed potatoes, but cook another meat now. Don't know what happened. Maybe, a tougher cut of meat is needed with this recipe. I just don't know?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
We didn't really like this. Although I followed the recipe, the steak did not turn out tender at all. In the future, if I want to cook a cheap cut of beef I think I will look for another recipe or go with the old standby of chuck in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
very tender and delicious. I didn't have the potato flakes so i just left them out. plus i used a different cut of beef. still very good. i wish it was a little saucier but overall almost as good as grandmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lalena Shea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
We loved this! I used two cans of the garlic and onion diced tomatoes and 1 cup of the beef broth and simmered for about 2 hours. The meat was very tender and the sauce thickened up very nicely. Too bad I wasn't serving mashed potatoes. This one is definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Allen Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Being an amateur cook I wasn't sure what to expect. We had some cans and veggies that needed to be used and this recipe covered them all. Overall it was good but I probably won't make it again. It tasted like a pot roast but not as tender. Maybe it's just my cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Swiss steak is a regular in our house and I make it the same way everytime. I was looking for a recipe that would change it up a little and this recipe caught my eye with the instant mashed potatoes and tenderizing process. Since I was using a tough piece of moose meat, I decided to give it a try. The meat turned out so tender that you could cut it with a fork. At first, I thought I was going to end up with something that was a cross between minute steak and swiss steak, but the end result tasted exactly like my traditional swiss steak. From now on, I will continue to use the tenderizing process with the mashed potato seasoning as it really improved the quality of the meat, but I will also go back to my traditional swiss steak where I add carrots, potatoes, and sometimes celery to the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States