Simmered Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This turned out great! I did make one minor change, though. I added two medium diced fresh tomatoes (mostly because I wanted to use them before the started to go bad) My family LOVED this recipe and asked to have it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I was skeptical of thie recipe because it called for potato flakes. I made the recipe as called for minus the beef broth because I didn't have it.I also used stewed tomatoes instead of diced. The recipe got rave reviews from my kids as well as the company we had over! GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xvioletx1882

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Middle River, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
This was delicious! The meat was very tender and the sauce was great. I like to put the sauce on mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Great recipe, I ended up using a full cup of broth because it was getting dried out at 1/2 hour but my pot doesn't completely close with the lid on so maybe that was why?!? I will add some green bell peppers next time and cut the onions into bigger pieces (1/2"X1/2"). This is just like mom used to make and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This sounded like it would be good. After making it, it didn't look as appetizing as it sounded. But, after one bite we were hooked. This was delicious. The meat was so tender and cut like butter. This will be a recipe that will be in use at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colcord, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Mount Hope, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Swiss steak is a regular in our house and I make it the same way everytime. I was looking for a recipe that would change it up a little and this recipe caught my eye with the instant mashed potatoes and tenderizing process. Since I was using a tough piece of moose meat, I decided to give it a try. The meat turned out so tender that you could cut it with a fork. At first, I thought I was going to end up with something that was a cross between minute steak and swiss steak, but the end result tasted exactly like my traditional swiss steak. From now on, I will continue to use the tenderizing process with the mashed potato seasoning as it really improved the quality of the meat, but I will also go back to my traditional swiss steak where I add carrots, potatoes, and sometimes celery to the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I had a small roast and didnt feel like roasting it so I used this recipe and cut steaks. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Strathroy, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I usually grill all my steaks. For a change, I decided to give this a try and it was fantastic! I doubled the sauce to put it on spaghetti, also! Yum! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer A.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This recipe is very easy and tasty, and includes ingredients that I usually have on hand. It will be added to my "regular rotation" of dinners. Next time, I think I'll reduce it to half a can of tomatoes and add extra beef broth in its place, but that's really just because I'm not a big fan of tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This turned out better than I expected! The kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soul

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hinsdale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States