Simmered Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I followed the recipe but the meat did not get tender despite simmering for nearly two hours. Maybe I had a bad cut of meat. The taste was OK but not that great. I will keep on looking for a good Swiss Steak recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Man

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Fantastic and easy...I love the flavors! I've made this recipe a few times, and added fresh mushrooms to the onions once, a bit of red wine to the broth another time. It's easy and versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri-Lynn Howell-Schlaiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
We really liked the flavor of this recipe. The only change I made was that I had no plain diced tomatoes so I used a can of fire roasted with garlic (YUM!). Served it with mashed potatoes - Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
quick, easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This sounded like it would be good. After making it, it didn't look as appetizing as it sounded. But, after one bite we were hooked. This was delicious. The meat was so tender and cut like butter. This will be a recipe that will be in use at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colcord, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Mount Hope, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This turned out better than I expected! The kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soul

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hinsdale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I had a small roast and didnt feel like roasting it so I used this recipe and cut steaks. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Strathroy, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Great recipe, I ended up using a full cup of broth because it was getting dried out at 1/2 hour but my pot doesn't completely close with the lid on so maybe that was why?!? I will add some green bell peppers next time and cut the onions into bigger pieces (1/2"X1/2"). This is just like mom used to make and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I usually grill all my steaks. For a change, I decided to give this a try and it was fantastic! I doubled the sauce to put it on spaghetti, also! Yum! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer A.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This turned out great! I did make one minor change, though. I added two medium diced fresh tomatoes (mostly because I wanted to use them before the started to go bad) My family LOVED this recipe and asked to have it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States