Simmered Cranberry Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This was so good. I am a push-over for cranberries and this recipe didn't fail to bring some serious smiles, well-dones, and pats-on-the-back. I browned the pork chops, without a lid, long enough to achieve a good color and have plenty of yummies on the bottom of the skillet. Using the water and a 1/2 cup of whole berry cranberry sauce, I deglazed the skillet and when all the goodies were loose from the bottom of the skillet I added the remaining ingrediences. I returned the pork chops to the skillet and added enough liquid to almost come to the top of the pork chops. I simmered them on Low/Med-Low until they were done having to add liquid twice. The pork chops were savory and sweet, but not too sweet, I will certainly be making these again. For those of you who enjoy tweeking recipes, this has so much potential. My thoughts were along the lines of adding orange zest and toasted pecans to the cranberry sauce. Something else I was thinking about was, using a mixture of water and cranberry juice instead of just water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Delicious. Made as written except used sugar instead of Splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
There's one thing that I didn't like about this recipe and that's the fact that the cranberries cooked to mush. I would not add the cranberries until the last 10-15 minutes of braising. Taste is good, and this really is easy, but it's not too appealing to the eye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I had fresh cranberries that I never made into sauce during the holidays, so this recipe was perfect! I sliced a boneless pork roast into 8 "chops" and browned. Doubled sauce ingredients. Used 1/2 Splenda and 1/2 white sugar. Added zest and juice of one large orange just because I love orange with my cranberry. I'm sure it would have been great without it too. Covered chops with water. Thirty minutes later, we had wonderful pork chops with a sweet cranberry sauce (used two bags of fresh cranberries because the sauce is what makes it so fabulous!). The extra sauce went well with the wild rice mix. Great recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Escape

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Excellent! I used canned whole-berry cranberry sauce and omitted the sugar (forgot it! opps!) Because another reviewer mentioned that the cranberries "cooked to mush" I only added about 2/3rds of the cranberry sauce at the beginning. Then, with about 10 minutes left, I added the rest of the sauce, mixing it in well. Because of this, the sauce was perfect, and we spooned it over the meat when it was served. Again, an EXCELLENT recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I was skeptical but this was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly except for substituting Splenda for real sugar. Next time I plan on adding some cranberry juice for extra zest as per a previous reviewer. Perfect dish for date night with your significant other if you're looking for something new to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Great taste and easy recipe! Only change I made was to use regular sugar instead of Splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I can't believe that I forgot to rate such a great recipe. This is a wonderfully versatile recipe that never fails to deliver, and I've even received compliments from people who don't care for cranberries. Different versions have included orange zest, orange juice, cranberry juice, mace, ginger and combinations thereof. All were excellent. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Really good and so easy. I only had dried cranberries so I used less berries and added a little more water. No mushy sauce. Even my son (age 24) who is picky loved this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
We really liked this recipe and will make it again! I altered slightly, added 1/2 water 1/2 orange juice and added a generous 'dollup' of dijon mustard. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States