Simmered Cranberry Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
l keep bags of cranberries in the freezer (bought on sale) and the flavor of the pork and cranberries was a delicious combination. I had large pork chops and used two bags of cranberries. I also used a mix of sugar and splenda, but not as much as called for in the recipe, as I did not want it too sweet. It came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Summerfield, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I can't believe that I forgot to rate such a great recipe. This is a wonderfully versatile recipe that never fails to deliver, and I've even received compliments from people who don't care for cranberries. Different versions have included orange zest, orange juice, cranberry juice, mace, ginger and combinations thereof. All were excellent. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Yummy! These were so good. The pork came out nice and tender and the sweet and tartness of the berries was super flavorful. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Stratford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Very flavorful and tender. The only thing I did different was to use sugar instead of chemical sweetener, and reduce the recipe by half, since there's only two of us. Put in more water than was called for because I was afraid it would cook off too fast. It didn't, so I had to reduce the sauce a little at the end, but it came out amazing! I would serve this to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I had fresh cranberries that I never made into sauce during the holidays, so this recipe was perfect! I sliced a boneless pork roast into 8 "chops" and browned. Doubled sauce ingredients. Used 1/2 Splenda and 1/2 white sugar. Added zest and juice of one large orange just because I love orange with my cranberry. I'm sure it would have been great without it too. Covered chops with water. Thirty minutes later, we had wonderful pork chops with a sweet cranberry sauce (used two bags of fresh cranberries because the sauce is what makes it so fabulous!). The extra sauce went well with the wild rice mix. Great recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Escape

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I was skeptical but this was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly except for substituting Splenda for real sugar. Next time I plan on adding some cranberry juice for extra zest as per a previous reviewer. Perfect dish for date night with your significant other if you're looking for something new to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Really good and so easy. I only had dried cranberries so I used less berries and added a little more water. No mushy sauce. Even my son (age 24) who is picky loved this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
There's one thing that I didn't like about this recipe and that's the fact that the cranberries cooked to mush. I would not add the cranberries until the last 10-15 minutes of braising. Taste is good, and this really is easy, but it's not too appealing to the eye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Great taste and easy recipe! Only change I made was to use regular sugar instead of Splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Delicious. Made as written except used sugar instead of Splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States