Silver's Savory Chicken and Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This was very good. It had a mild flavor which was fine with me. I'm just glad I found a good casserole recipe that doesn't call for any canned condensed soups! I did add about 1/3 cup mayo, as suggested by another reviewer, and decreased the milk a little. I also added some chopped bacon, shredded cheddar, and chicken bouillon to the sauce mix. I par-steamed fresh broccoli and I'm glad I did. The addition of slivered almonds on top was wonderful. If anything, I would add a few shakes of garlic salt next time to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
A delicious recipe with a few modifications. I used fresh broccoli instead of frozen. I also sauteed one minced garlic clove with the onion. I used heavy cream instead of milk, and I added 1/4 cup of sourcream to sauce. I saved this recipe, and will definitley make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hellonheels

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This was an easy and very tasty recipe. My husband announced it is his "favorite."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This is good as written. I like the fact that it doesn't call for the salty canned soups. Preparation is simple. Use fresh broccoli instead of frozen, and pre-steam it a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
excellent comfort food! I didn't add anything or take away anything. awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Siletz, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fruitland Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
As others suggested, used Penne and mix everything instead of layering. Also added cayanne and curry to taste and topped with grated parmesan. My guys had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
A perfect winter meal! I doubled the sauce, used fresh steamed broccoli, added fresh garlic, some italian spices and topped the casserole with panko. It was even better reheated the next day. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
We were pleased to discover the recipe adapts very well to leftover turkey. I used 6 oz. mini farfalle for the pasta, and the little bow ties really added to the presentation. Also doubled the amount of sauce as suggested in several reviews, using homemade turkey broth instead of chicken broth, and fresh steamed broccoli florets. If I were to make it again, I might add some chopped almonds for garnish, as I think they'd go well with the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Not enough flavor for me. I added garlic and I seasoned my chicken but it was a little bland. My daughter loved it but the rest of thought it was ok. Not something I would make again. I didn't have a problem with dry noodles like so many said but I didn't thaw my broccoli so that may have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I thought this was great. A great weeknight dish. Homestyle but fairly simple. I simplified by adding a can of chicken broth, fresh Broccoli chopped fine, a garlic and herb rotissere(sp) chicken... was great and made even better leftovers. Thanks Silver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States