Silver's Savory Chicken and Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by kcsheay2k
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Wow! This dish is absolutely delicious. Bravo! I think if you add cream of chicken soup on top of the noodles before pouring the yummy sauce, it might moisten those noodles enough to prevent them from drying out while baking. Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcsheay2k
Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Nags Head, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This was great! Even my kids loved it. Instead of egg noodles I used sliced potatoes, and Velveeta cheese instead of provolone. It turned out awesome. I will definitely be making this again, probably very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liltinker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shirley, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Very good! I melted 1/2 lb Velvetta in the broth/milk (skipped provolone cheese and only put chedder on the top before baking) and we ALL loved it. So versatile! Also, added about 1/2 cup peas to broccoli. I used seasoned salt instead of regular salt and that added a variety of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
ehhhh...easy enough...but would be better with some heavy cream...didn't have any or else I would have used that instead of milk...did chop a few cloves of garlic and grate a little nutmeg in the mix...wouldn't make this as is though to bland for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
My whole family loves this recipe! It is the best chicken casserole I have ever had. I have made it as written and it is very good, but with the following changes we have found we like it even better: adding 1 chopped clove of garlic to the onion and adding 4 oz of cream cheese to the sauce after it starts to thicken. We also add less grated cheese because we eat all organic and that much organic cheese would cost a lot! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jarrell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This was easy and pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This was pretty good, a little bland but worth working with. I followed the recipe really closely but I used only 3c cooked chicken which was plenty with everything else. I never added provolone cheese to a casserole before, it was stringy and not as flavorful as I thought but not sure what I'd use instead unless I used all cheddar - but we'll have it again with some seasoning, it was nice & quick and ss liked it, he prefers blander foods anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Be aware it will take longer than 20 min. to assemble the ingredients for this recipe. It took me 45 min. to make this from scratch. If you are making from scratch and don't have ingredients precooked and precut, it may take that long. This could use a larger amount of the white sauce portion and less cheese. It is not a favorite with our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by musicmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I needed to prepare a dish that could be prepared one day and then simply reheated the next. I was not available to put everything together on the day I was to serve it to a group of 65. After running all the ratios and conversions everything came off smoothly. I followed the advice of many other reviewers and 1.5x the recipe for the liquid and I understand it was great. I filled 4 full size 2.1 gal chafing dishes. I did not layer as called for in the original recipe but had refrigerated everything except for the pasta and broccoli the night before. Then simply mixed everything together on refrigerated overnight. The whole process for me took 3 days do to time commitments. The serving day I just sprinkled some Italian bread crumbs over 1/3 of the cheese I had reserved, baked for 25 minutes and it was done. It is important to remove from the fridge at least a couple of hours to bring to room temperature before cooking to minimize reheating time. I cooked it in a convection oven that provided uniform heating. The first day I baked the boned/skinless chicken breasts, which to me, is better than boiling them and easier for a serving this size than doing them on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This was a great recipe. I agree with others that it needs more sauce, but that's so easily fixed. I used half the chicken, onion and cheese. When I made the sauce, I used probably twice as much milk (and I used no-salt added veggie stock). I then put everything (cheese included) in the sauce and dumped it over the noodles and combined them. It made a LOT of food and was loved by my toddler and husband alike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States