Silver's Savory Chicken and Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Try, I did, following several suggestions of other reviewers. It's just not memorable enough to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This was absolutely delicious! I fried 2 chicken breasts (between 6-8 oz) lightly seasoned with salt and pepper, in butter over medium heat, for about 4 minutes on each side (or till the pink was gone but not dried), and then I shredded them with two forks. I also added a couple of potatoes, in which I had cubed, boiled, and then lightly sauteed in the pan that I had cooked the chicken in with a little extra fat. When I made the sauce, I accidently browned the onion (tending to little ones and the phone rang), but I found that it added a LOT OF FLAVOR to the sauce. I initially made the quantity stated in the recipe, but after assembling the casserole, the sauce didn't look like it would be enough. I ended up stirring the same quantities of broth, milk and flour into the previous sauce I made, and reheated till thickened. My picky family aren't huge fans of chicken but they gobbled up this dish. When my husband helped himself to 3 servings, then I knew I have found a winner. I will definitely make this over and over again! Thanks for the recipe and the flexibility you allow us to have, Silver Shadowwolf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Photo by kcsheay2k
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Wow! This dish is absolutely delicious. Bravo! I think if you add cream of chicken soup on top of the noodles before pouring the yummy sauce, it might moisten those noodles enough to prevent them from drying out while baking. Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcsheay2k
Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Nags Head, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This was great! Even my kids loved it. Instead of egg noodles I used sliced potatoes, and Velveeta cheese instead of provolone. It turned out awesome. I will definitely be making this again, probably very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liltinker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shirley, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Very good! I melted 1/2 lb Velvetta in the broth/milk (skipped provolone cheese and only put chedder on the top before baking) and we ALL loved it. So versatile! Also, added about 1/2 cup peas to broccoli. I used seasoned salt instead of regular salt and that added a variety of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
ehhhh...easy enough...but would be better with some heavy cream...didn't have any or else I would have used that instead of milk...did chop a few cloves of garlic and grate a little nutmeg in the mix...wouldn't make this as is though to bland for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
My whole family loves this recipe! It is the best chicken casserole I have ever had. I have made it as written and it is very good, but with the following changes we have found we like it even better: adding 1 chopped clove of garlic to the onion and adding 4 oz of cream cheese to the sauce after it starts to thicken. We also add less grated cheese because we eat all organic and that much organic cheese would cost a lot! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jarrell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This was easy and pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This was pretty good, a little bland but worth working with. I followed the recipe really closely but I used only 3c cooked chicken which was plenty with everything else. I never added provolone cheese to a casserole before, it was stringy and not as flavorful as I thought but not sure what I'd use instead unless I used all cheddar - but we'll have it again with some seasoning, it was nice & quick and ss liked it, he prefers blander foods anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Be aware it will take longer than 20 min. to assemble the ingredients for this recipe. It took me 45 min. to make this from scratch. If you are making from scratch and don't have ingredients precooked and precut, it may take that long. This could use a larger amount of the white sauce portion and less cheese. It is not a favorite with our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by musicmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States