Silver White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2000
this cake is really dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2000
After reading the dryness comment, I used half and half instead of regular milk and it turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2000
I loved this recipe! I used almond extract instead of vanilla. I also beat the egg whites separately and folded them into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2000
It was tasty, but dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2000
This cake is dry. I don't like the method of mixing. This is no way to treat a cake batter. The user who beat the egg whites separately was on the right track. But I have another recipe for white cake that is so superior I don't need to adjust this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
I thought this cake was pretty good. However, a bit too much baking soda. Next time I make it I will definetely put less in because it had a weird flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
This is a good white cake. I filled it with a Lemon Whipped Cream filling (Lemon Custard from this site cut with whipped cream to lighten it); frosted it with Mom's Buttercream Frosting (this site); and topped it with coconut and Royal Icing spring flowers. I brought it to work for a birthday and everyone loved it. The cake was moist and easy to work with once baked. I did find making it to be somewhat labor intensive. I have a hand mixer so the beating was harder than it would have been with a stand mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2001
I'm getting married and will be making my own cake and have been looking for a light summer cake to decorate, this is the one! It's very easy,light and because it has no heavy flavors it is easy to add any flavorings I want. Thanks Ginger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2001
I used light butter for the shortening and added 1/2 tsp almond extract. I baked it in a 9x13 pan w/parchment paper on the bottom so I could take it out and cut it in half. I knew it was risky, but it really came out great. It was thin and dense but very tasty and yummy w/vanilla pudding in the middle. I frosted it w/chocolate peanut butter frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2001
I love this cake! I make it at every birthday and special occasion and just change the icing and decorations. It's so lovely and light, it's a family favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States