Silver White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
I won't make this one again. I had read other members' reviews that compared this cake to sweet cornbread. I thought surely they had done something wrong, and that the recipe itself was not at fault. Sorry to say, they hit the nail on the head! This cake was easy to make, but that's about the only positive thing I can say. It was fairly dry, dense, crumbly, did not handle frosting very well, and did have a flavor and texture like cornbread. Also, the batter was certainly not enough for 2 9-inch pans. My 4 year old niece enjoyed having it for dessert, but that's because she only ate the frosting. I wouldn't suggest bothering with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
I loved the name, gave it a go using half and half, half white chocolate pudding, and mixed by hand. Used at two totally different parties, (ethnicity and age), and it went over great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
I used 1½ cups half & half in place of the milk and added ½ of a small package of white chocolate pudding. This made the cake very moist and dense. Next time I am going to make 1½ times the recipe since my 9 x 13 this time was very thin. Overall a yummy cake after tweaking it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
Excellent white cake - I used 1/2 and 1/2 in place of the milk. I also sifted the flour and the baking powder 3 times. I greased and floured the pans and could not get the cake out of the pan (9x13 pan) - next time I will put parchment paper down but the flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
It was a good cake, but nothing to write home about :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAYE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2001
This cake is THE best!!! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
This amount of batter would produce a better looking layer if baked in 8" pans rather than 9" pans. Also, the amount of salt needs to be cut back by at least 1/2; all I could taste was salt even though I substituded the juice and grated rind of 1 lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2001
I love this cake! I make it at every birthday and special occasion and just change the icing and decorations. It's so lovely and light, it's a family favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2001
I used light butter for the shortening and added 1/2 tsp almond extract. I baked it in a 9x13 pan w/parchment paper on the bottom so I could take it out and cut it in half. I knew it was risky, but it really came out great. It was thin and dense but very tasty and yummy w/vanilla pudding in the middle. I frosted it w/chocolate peanut butter frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2001
I'm getting married and will be making my own cake and have been looking for a light summer cake to decorate, this is the one! It's very easy,light and because it has no heavy flavors it is easy to add any flavorings I want. Thanks Ginger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States