Silver White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Garrett
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
This cake was fairly simple to make. It is a great cake for decorating. I used it to make a flag cake for Fourth of July. It is very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
Tasted great. Fluffy is a stretch but maybe that was my altitude.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
The cake was very good, however it was a little dry. I did not think it tasted like cornbread at all, nOr did I have the trouble with the cake flattening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
This is the worst cake recipe I have ever tried. The texture was dense, the flavor was strange and the cake was so heavy that if I drilled a hole in the centre I could use it as a spare tire. What a waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
This recipe tasted like corn bread and butter. It was awful! I don't recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
This recipe was awesome. Flavor is great. I did alter it with the 1 1/2 c half and half instead of milk and adding the 1/2 package white choc. pudding mix, to make it more moist. Make sure you use cake flour...that's what makes it rise so well, and I used round cake pans and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
I used 1/2 cup butter instead of shortening, SOY MILK instead of regular milk, and half SPLENDA,half SUGAR for the sugar requirement. Much healthier this way, and I believe the texture of the soy milk is responsible for giving the cake its unique texture. Also, just for fun, I threw in some chocolate chips and sprinkles. Almost a whole new reciple..absolutley delicious and far less calories...and some nutritional value!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
Very dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mantua, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
I wish I would have read the reviews first before making this so called cake. What a waste of time and ingredients. I just hope the birds liek it. It went flat and tasted weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
EWWWWWW. i mixed the egg whites separately. i added it into the batter. the batter was delicious but thats about it. the cake started rising well, but then is went flat. the cake was crunchy, crumbly, chewy, and completely gross! not trying this again. maybe there isnt enough flour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States