Silver White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Absolutely perfect cake! I frosted it with whipped cream, sugar and a bit of vanilla and put raspberries all over the top. It was a huge hit at my 5 year old's birthday party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
I followed this recipe exactly. It came out very heavy, dry, and tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
This cake turned out beautifully!! Nice and moist and not too sweet on it's own. Made it for at the restaurant for a nice light dessert. Filled it with lemon curd and topped with a buttercream icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chippawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Welland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Wow!!!! This cake is fantastic. It was easy to make and tasted delicious!!! I used the article and made a flag cake for our Fourth Of July celebration. Everyone seemed to enjoy it and it not only tasted good, but looked good too! Thanks Ginger for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
Yum, liked by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chrismelissa
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
Ok, first of all I LOVED THIS RECIPE!! I cut the recipe to half to make a one layer cake, used maybe a 6 inch cake round (?), I don't think I needed all the batter, cause the pan is so small. And I used vanilla buttercream frosting, yummy! So it became the top layer for my 3-tier cake. Fabulous! Everyone was very impressed at my parents suprise anniversary dinner party!! Thanks Ginger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrismelissa

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Upper Marlboro, Maryland, USA
Living In: Millersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
I do agree that it tastes too much like baking powder. I followed the recipe step by step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
The cake was very dense & not moist at all. This might be because I used regular flour instead of cake flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
Great texture! I loved it with the French Silk Frosting and also cream cheese frosting was good as well. Everyone asks for it for their birthday. Would win a prize anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
easy to make, was not dense, I guess you could say fluffy. But it did taste like baking powder. We followed the directions exactly until I realized that batter tasted so awful. I was going to add more sugar but decided on an extra teaspoon of vanilla. It's dry, crumbly and still tastes bad. I'm going to turn it into a poke cake with some vanilla pudding, maybe that will make it edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States