Silver White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I made this cake for Memorial Day. I made a the sheet version to make a flag cake. It turned out awesome, not too sweet. I frosted it with 1 cup heavy cream whipped with 1/4 cup conf. sugar. Topped with fresh strawberries and blueberries. We didn't taste the "sweet cornbread", just a refreshing light cake. A great summer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I found this recipe to be wonderful. The key is mixing the dry and wet ingredient seperate then mixing until just combined (dont overmix). Then making sure your egg whites, bowl, and beaters are very cold. Also, when beating egg white you have to use a metal or glass bowl or they will not set up no matter how much u beat them. It's also very important not to mix the egg whites into the batter. Instead fold them in slowly. I have made this recipe several times and the end result has always been the same. Very light and tender cake!!! A++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This cake was very dry and had the cornbread consistency like previous reviews said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This cake is EXCELLENT!! The only substitution I make is real butter for the shortening, softened, and add 4tsp total of baking powder. Make sure you mix all dry ingredients together first before adding wet. I did not get a cornmeal consistency at all. Also, be sure to beat the egg white until stiff and it is important to mix in some first then gently fold in the rest, this is what makes the cake light and fluffy. It is my sons birthday today and this cake is always THE birthday cake, with a nice buttercream frosting, I get a lot of requests for this cake. Sometimes I just do a 9x13, sometimes cupcakes, and sometimes the layers. It is the BEST cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNNYSAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
The cake looked really spectacular when baked, however it tasted like cornbread and that wasn't what I wanted, it was a lot of effort for such disappointing results,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I think that the cake is beautiful! I think it also looks yummy!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
**For those reviewers who had to poke a jab at those of us who did not enjoy this recipe - I happen to bake quite a lot and have never had any cake turn out quite like this one, unless you count Johnny-Cake. Yes, I used LARGE eggs. No, I did not use All-Purpose flour...I know very well what cake flour is and how it is different from all-purpose, bread and whole wheat flour. I also live in a humid climate so I shouldn't have to adjust this recipe. I am also amazed at the amount of people who give this recipe RAVE reviews after changing it (reduce flour, baking time, etc) or adding special ingredients (pudding mix). What happened to rating a recipe as it is written?*** I tried this recipe today, after searching for a good, light white cake recipe. It definitly wasn't what I was looking for. Despite being slightly moist and springy, it had a dense and sandy quality when eaten that we didn't like. It also definitly tastes like sweet cornbread...not at all what I had hoped for. ETA....This recipe (along with French Silk Frosting is staight out of an older edition of Betty Crocker. At least give them credit to the ORIGINAL author)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Hey, I just made this cake yesterday, thought my comments got in there but guess not so here goes again..This cake turned out perfect.I followed high altitude instructions and the consistency was perfect. yes it tastes alittle like cornbread,or white cake. but I think almond flavoring is a much better choice for this cake..very good cake..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
This cake is great i made it today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I didn't follow the steps, only the ingredients...it's in the oven now. I'm scared
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green River, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States