Silver White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
There are no stars as yet because I am just getting ready to make this...but I had to dissagree with one review saying that you should use a cold bowl/mixers to beat the egg whites. That is true for cream but for egg whites you usually get a better end product with everything even the egg whites themselves being room temp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littleone101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Delicious! I substituted 1/2c butter for shortening, other than that followed directions. I made this for the 4th and everyone loved it! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Nice and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
this recipe makes the perfect wedding cake! it's white with white frosting!! or you can decorate it any way you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
My cake turned out wonderfully moist. I did use all purpose flour, but made the necessary changes that were needed for this substitution. To substitute all purpose flour for cake flour, measure 2 tablespoons less of all purpose flour per cup of cake flour. The amount of all purpose flour used in this recipe is about l tablespoon less then 2 cups. In addition I sifted the flour after measuring. If you don't use less all purpose flour then what the recipe calls for in cake flour, your cake will not be moist. I increased vanilla to 2 teaspoons and substituted the shortening for soft butter. Be sure to use dry utensils and glass bowls when beating the egg whites. Add egg white in two stages as specified in recipe. Great flavor and texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
We use a recipe almost identical to this in our catering service, it's best to use half & half instead of the milk, but you MUST beat the whites separately until the peak, and fold them in slowly. The more air you trap inside the egg whites, the lighter your cake will be. Use a finer grained sugar and CAKE flour (not all purpose) and you'll get rid of the grainy texture. Extra sifting helps with this as well. Adding citrus zest or a little bit of sprite helps sweeten it without making it taste like sugar. This is one of the most versatile and useful basic cake recipes I've used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
It's a little dry but I don't get this cornbread texture and taste that certain reviewers keep refering to. I have never had a cake that used cake flour come out with a cornbread texture. It makes me wonder if some of these people know what cake flour is. I bet a lot of them are using all-purpose flour thinking that it's the same thing; it's not. Cake flour is a low protein flour that produces cakes with a soft, light texture. It usually comes in boxes the size of a Bisquick box. Two popular brands are Swan's Down and Softasilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This was my wedding cake, a cousin made it as a gift and it was wonderful with a great butter cream frosting. She does have one extra trick she added approx 2/3 cup shaved, and broken into small pieces of milk chocolate in it. She chops milk chocolate chips but a bar of chocolate shaved works too. Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This is a great cake if you know what to expect. It's a cross between a shortcake and a white cake, meaning it's less sweet and less spongy. It is perfect for any whipped light frostings and fruit. I make it often if we want a light dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
The cake was delicious! I was hosting a dinner party and I had to make a whole new one because my husband and I ate the first one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anton Ego

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States