Silver White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I made for fathers day 2010 with white mountain frosting and lemon filling. Was sooo dry. I will never make a shortening cake or use this method of putting all ing. together and adding unbeaten whites again. I am so upset this did not turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This cake was fantastic. It was so easy! I only made a couple minor changes. Substituted half and half for the milk, added a couple teaspoons of strawberry flavoring and just a small bit of red food coloring to make it pink. It's fabulously light and fluffy. I had a few air holes so I know to get the egg whites stirred in a little better next time. This is my go-to white cake from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
There is too much butter in this cake, which makes it very heavy and although it tastes good, it sits very badly in the stomach. Will look for a lighter version in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Even tho' this cake could use a little more flavor I'm still giving it a 5-star rating because its got so much else going for it. Baking white or yellow cakes is almost a gamble, particularly because of its high chance of being dry. This cake is NOT dry, however, note that I added two more egg whites and used half and half rather than milk. I'm sure each of these slight modifications, in addition to carefully making sure I didn't overbake it, are responsible for that. The cake is moist, brilliant white, light and fluffy. So...if you add a little more vanilla and/or a touch of almond extract this would definitely be all you'd ask for in a white cake. Because it's a more delicate cake this is best, I believe, with a lighter type frosting. I baked this as cupcakes, for about 16 minutes, in silicone baking cups which I've now learned I don't like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
this was a great cake, the only changes i made was using half and half, 2 teaspoons of vanilla bean paste and about half a package of vanilla instant pudding mix. I have madet his for several people and they have all loved it, with and without icing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Not intending to be rude, but this is my least favorite recipe I've ever followed. The mixing technique is streniouse and shortning should not be used. I followed the recipe exact, and it was the worst thing I've ever tasted. This is my favorite cake and was hoping for a better recipe than I have. Even the batter is thicker than cake batter should be. This needs to be revised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samjibben

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Oakdale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I bake and decorate cakes as a side job and this cake always gets great reviews! I've used it with fillings, different types of icing and each time it is fantastic. As with all cakes, you must make sure you do not overbake the cake...it will be dry and not turn out. This is a wonderful light, but sweet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I have been baking this particular cake since I was nine and have NEVER had it come out like cornbread. As a skilled baker, I would remind you that in baking when a recipe calls for eggs, you must use LARGE eggs. That is a common standard unless otherwise noted in your recipe. Through the years I've modified my recipe slightly and will use sea salt and butter instead of salt and shortening and two teaspoons vanilla. Occasionally in dryer climates you may need to add an eighth to a quarter cup more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This wasn't anything I would ever make again. I made it for my daughters birthday and we didn't care for the flavor. Very heavy cake, almost like a pound cake and the flavor was nothing I would expect out of a cake. I rarely rate anything this low but would hate to have someone make this for a special occasion just to have it be an embarassment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I just made this cake for a wedding and it turned out fabulous. People kept coming back for more! I followed some other suggestions, using 1 and 1/2 c half and half instead of milk and adding a package of white chocolate pudding mix in with the flour. I turned the oven down to 325 to prevent the cake from "falling" or caving in. It turned out perfect, moist and very flavorful. This is by far my favorite white cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States