Silver White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
this recipe was exactly what I was looking for. I wanted a white cake to go with a fruity icing and this is perfect. I took people's suggestions and used half and half instead of milk and that worked well. The recipe is for a 13x9 inch pan, but I baked this in an 11x15x1 inch pan for 20 minutes and it worked just fine. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I really liked this cake and thought it was easy. I almost forgot to add the vanilla. I will defnitely make it again. I frosted it with buttercream frosting and chopped strawberries inbetween the layers (frosted the layers so it wouldn't soak through). It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trudy
Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Because my son has an intollerance to dairy, I used coconut oil in place of the shortening and coconut milk instead of milk. I will definitely try this again as the cake, even without cake flour, turned out very nice. My oven baked a little too fast and the top was a little too done...and I didn't have powdered sugar for a nice icing. This is a keeper and a safe dessert or birthday cake for my son!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Didnt work for me? Cake had corn bread texture and "weird" after taste. Not my cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
YES!! Finally a usable cake recipe. Granted a couple adjustments need to be implemented. First, mixing the wet and dry ingredients separatly before mixing them together. No need to beat them just mix until incorporated. Second, make sure your egg whites are very stiff. Third, when mixing the egg whites into the batter FOLD, don't mix. It's ok to have a small lump here and there. Finally, make sure to start checking your cake about 5-10 min before time to ensure you don't over bake. You will achieve a very moist and light cake. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINMOMMYMANDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This is a simple and effective cake batter. To the people who commented saying "I don't like how this is mixed" and "This is no way to treat a cake batter" - It is actually. This is how you treat a white cake batter. Very similar to Angel Food Cake. If you don't like it, buy boxed cake mix. I've been using the same recipe as this since I was about twelve and I've never had a problem with it. Sifting helps, and I agree - using half and half creates a richer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRocket

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Just made this for cupcakes and it turned out very well, if not a little bit lacking in flavor. I used butter instead of shortening, so it didnt come out a super white color as it otherwise would. I also creamed the sugar and butter together before adding the dry ingredients and then added everything except the egg white and beat until just smooth. beating for a full 2 minutes would change the structure of the cake drastically, and may be why many people said this cake is too dense. i also folded in the egg whites as previously mentioned. the cakes turned out super light and fluffy when i put them in the oven for about 13 minutes. i might try adding some vanilla bean or more extract next time to amp up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I have tried this recipe using various methods and adaptations. It is extrememly dry, with a floury texture. Not one i would use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kat
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I absolutely love this cake, and for all of the right reasons. It's light, and easy, and comes out perfectly. Sometimes I get impatient, waiting for it to cool- but that's normal with cakes, that they take awhile. I used to make this recipe, about five years ago, but then I lost the cookbook that I had the recipe in. I was ecstatic when I found the same recipe here. Pretty much any frosting will taste good with this, but I usually use the French Silk Frosting as recommended. I also use this recipe sometimes to make Petits Fours, by putting the batter into a baking pan instead. Cooking times do vary though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe, enough so that I am moved to rate it. I didn't have any shortening so I used unsalted butter instead. This cake freezes and unfreezes really well. A true winner in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States