Silver White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
In theory I like this but it was not as moist as I want it as is. Two more egg whites and you are good to go. Also, follow others suggestions and beat eggs separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courteepoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I used butter and half & half for their equivalents in the recipe. I also combined the dry ingredients together, then the wet, then the eggs. The cake was very light, fluffy, and SUPER RICH that way. I also added a touch of almond extract--it tasted just like wedding cake. This is my new go-to cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
My daughter LOVES this cake...it is her new favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I was hoping this was like my grandmother's recipe unfortunately the cake fell in the oven and was crumbly. It could have been my own mistake but I thought I followed the directions listed exactly. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrolivi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alburnett, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I made this using mostly half and half plus some milk as per the previous reviews. I was also a bit worried about it being dry so I added some applesauce. It was almost soggy now so next time I'll make exactly as written,although I thought it had a bit of a baking powder aftertaste when eaten before frosting. Next time maybe I'll cut the baking powder back a little?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. It had an unappealing texture, and tasted like cornbread muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Baked this cake for our wedding. It was a huge hit! Soft texture and a delicious cake for any occasions, No complaints or comments beyond it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
For me, this cake turned out moist and light. Reading the problems some reviewers had with a dry cake, I made sure to beat the egg whites to soft peaks only instead of stiff (and dry) as directed, a trick I got recently while watching a cooking show. I don't purchase cake flour anymore, instead I reduced my all-purpose flour to 2 cups. Only problem, I forgot to flour the pans and had a hard time unmolding. I plan to line my pans with parchment next time. Turned out great and I plan to make it again, anytime I have extra egg whites in my fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This is a must try!!! Great recipe! was worried how it would turn out after reading other reviews, but it was awsome! followed recipe and added about 1/2c. My mom said it reminded her of the wedding cakes the bakery made when she was a kid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
This recipe was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States